NEDA approves P133-B worth of infra projects
The NEDA Board approved 12 infrastructure projects worth P133 billion

NEDA BOARD MEETING. President Aquino III at the NEDA Board Meeting at the Aguinaldo State Dining Room, Malacañan Palace on Thursday March 22, 2012. With him are MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino, Environment Secretary Ramon Jesus Paje, Agriculture Secretary Proceso Alcala, Secretary for Socioeconomic Planning and NEDA Director-General Cayetano Paderanga, Jr. and Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima. Photo by Robert Viñas / Malacañang Photo Bureau

MANILA, Philippines – Twelve infrastructure projects worth P133 billion were approved by the country’s main economic policy body.

On late Thursday, March 22, the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Board announced in a statement the infrastructure projects that the Aquino administration would pursue.

These are infrastructure projects that have been evaluated with respect to their technical, financial, economic, social, environmental and institutional development feasibility/viability and from the context of sectoral plans and geographical strategies.

President Aquino sits as the chairman of the NEDA Board while Socio-Economic Planning Secretary Cayetano Paderanga is chair. The other Board members are the Executive Secretary and the Secretaries of Finance, Trade and Industry, Agriculture, Environment and Natural Resources, Public Works and Highways, Budget and Management, Labor and Employment, and Interior and Local Government.

Below are the 12 approved infrastructure projects:

1. E-Trike Project Dep’t of Energy
2. Agus VI Hydroelectric Power Plant Uprating Project National Power Corporation
3. Infrastructure and Information system for the Land Transportation Office Dep’t of Transportation and Communication (DOTC)
4. Jalaur River Multipurpose Irrigation Project Phase II Dep’t of Agriculture – National Irrigation Administration (DOA-NIA)
5. Umayam River Irrigation Project DOA-NIA
6. Casecnan Multipurpose Irrigation and Power Project (CMIPP) – Irrigation Component Phase II DOA-NIA
7. Umiray Bridge DOA
8. Integrated Natural Resources and Environmental Management Program Dep’t of Environment and Natural Resources
9. Baler-Casiguran Road Improvement Project Dep’t of Public Works and Highways (DPWH)
10. Integrated Disaster Risk Reduction and Climate Change Adaptation Measures in Low-Lying Areas of Pampanga Bay Project DPWH and Dep’t of Education
11. LRT 1 South Extension Project DOTC
12. Samar Pacific Coastal Road DPWH


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.