Aquino appoints Salazar as Energy Regulatory Commission chair
Aquino appoints Salazar as Energy Regulatory Commission chair
Jose Vicente Salazar, who is replacing Zenaida Cruz-Ducut at the ERC, will serve a 7-year term that ends in July 2022

MANILA, Philippines – President Benigno Aquino III has appointed lawyer Jose Vicente Salazar to a 7-year term as chairman of the Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC).

An advisory from Malacañang cited information from the Office of the Executive Secretary that the President approved Salazar’s appointment Friday, July 31.

Salazar, whose term will end on July 10, 2022, is replacing Zenaida Cruz-Ducut, the former Pampanga congresswoman appointed by former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

From 2007 to 2013, Salazar served as undersecretary at the Department of Justice (DOJ). During that time, he also chaired the Department of Energy-DOJ Task Force on the Downstream Oil Industry Deregulation Act of 1998. (Editor’s note: It was previously reported that Salazar served as energy undersecretary. This has been updated to DOJ undersecretary).

He sat in the board of the Power Sector Assets and Liabilities Management Corporation.

Salazar, 45, studied electrical engineering at the University of the Philippines, holds a master’s in public administration from Harvard, and got his juris doctor from the Ateneo de Manila University. – 

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.