FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2015 awards night

'Walang Forever' brings home the Best Picture award, among many other awards. 'Buy Now Die Later' wins 2nd Best Picture, while 'Honor Thy Father' also wins big

MMFF 2015 AWARDS NIGHT. 'Buy Now Die Later,' 'Walang Forever,' and 'Honor Thy Father' win awards at the 2015 Metro Manila Film Festival. Screengrabs from YouTube/TIFF Trailers/Quantum Films

MANILA, Philippines – (UPDATED) It was a big night for Walang Forever at the 2015 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Awards Night held Sunday, December 27 at the Kia Theatre in Cubao, Quezon City.

Walang Forever won 6 awards in total, including Best Picture, and Best Actor and Best Actress for its stars, Jericho Rosales and Jennylyn Mercado.

Meanwhile, Nilalang and Honor Thy Father won 5 awards each. 

The event was hosted by KC Concepcion and Richard Gutierrez.

During the night, former MMFF chair Francis Tolentino was given recognition. Francis is running for a senatorial position in the 2016 elections.

Meanwhile, Honor Thy Father director Erik Matti was a no-show at the awards night despite winning best director. Honor Thy Father was disqualified from the Best Picture category by the MMFF executive committee for non-disclosure of the film’s participation in another festival.

Here is the complete list of winners:

  • Short Film Special Jury Prize: Daisy
  • New Wave Best Short Film: Mumu
  • Manila Bulletin Entertainment Best Animation Award: Geo
  • Manila Bulletin Best Short Film: Momento
  • New Wave Best Animation Film: Buttons
  • Best Float Award: Buy Now Die Later
  • New Wave Best Screenplay: Ari: My Life with a King
  • Manila Bulletin Best Full Length Film: Ari: My Life with a King 
  • New Wave Best Full Length Film: Ari: My Life with a King
  • New Wave Best Actor: JM de Guzman, Tandem and Francisco Quinto, Ari: My Life with a King
  • New Wave Best Supporting Actor: Thou Reyes, Toto
  • New Wave Best Supporting Actress: Bibeth Orteza, Toto
  • Best New Wave Film Director: John Paul Su, Toto
  • New Wave Full Length Jury Prize: Toto
  • New Wave Special Jury Prize: Little Lights
  • New Wave Best Picture: Ari: My Life with a King
  • Best Festival Child Performer: Krystal Brimner, Honor Thy Father
  • Best Festival Sound: Ditoy Aguila, Nilalang
  • Best Musical Score: Jessie Lasaten, Nilalang
  • Best Theme Song: Tao,” Honor Thy Father
  • Best Makeup Artist: Ryan Panaligan and Erika Racela, Honor Thy Father
  • Best Visual Effects: Nilalang
  • Best Production Design: Buy Now Die Later
  • Best Editing: Nilalang
  • Best Cinematography: Nilalang
  • FPJ Memorial Award for Film Excellence: Walang Forever
  • Male celebrity of the night: Cesar Montano
  • Female celebrity of the night: Jennylyn Mercado
  • Best Original Story: Dan Villegas and Antoinette Jadaone, Walang Forever
  • Best ScreenplayPaul Sta Ana, Walang Forever
  • Best Director: Erik Matti, Honor Thy Father
  • Best Supporting Actor: Tirso Cruz III, Honor Thy Father
  • Best Supporting Actress: Maine Mendoza, My Bebe Love
  • Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: My Bebe Love
  • 3rd Best Picture: My Bebe Love
  • 2nd Best Picture: Buy Now Die Later 
  • Best Picture: Walang Forever
  • Best Actor: Jericho Rosales, Walang Forever
  • Best Actress: Jennylyn Mercado, Walang Forever

The festival kicked off with the annual Parade of Stars on December 23, with tandems Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza, James Reid and Nadine Lustre, and Kim Chiu and Xian Lim waving to the crowd and giving away posters for their films.

All 8 movies hit theaters on Friday, December 25, with Haunted Mansion, My Bebe Love, Beauty and the Bestie, and All You Need is Pag-ibig leading the box office in terms of earnings. – Rappler.com