WATCH: Stars appeal for passage of a mental health law
WATCH: Stars appeal for passage of a mental health law
Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Ian Veneracion, Angel Aquino and more appear in PSA videos for the Philippine Psychiatric Association's call for the passage of a mental health law

MANILA, Philippines – A number of stars and personalities appeared in a public service announcement (PSA) to call for support for the passage of a mental health law. (READ: UP students create mobile app for mental health first aid)

Celebrities and personalities who appeared in the two videos from the Philippine Psychiatric Association (PPA) are Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Mikael Daez, Sam YG, Ian Veneracion, Angel Aquino, Agot Isidro, Ramon Bautista, Rico Blanco and more.

In one of the videos, Ian Veneracion begins by saying “I have a mental health problem,” followed by Jasmine and Mikael.


The entertainment figures in the campaign video say, “To this day, we still don’t have laws to protect the rights of mental health sufferers.”

“That is a big mental health problem,” Angel Aquino continues.

According to the campaign website, the World Health Organization reported that 1 in 5 people suffer from mental health problems worldwide. In the Philippines, for every every 10 million Filipinos, only 5 psychiatrists are available.

Furthermore, the website also claims that most health insurance policies do not cover mental health issues. There is also a stigma attached to mental health suffering.

To gather support, the PPA is calling on everyone to sign the petition for the passage of the Philippine Mental Health Law. (READ: Why do Filipinos need a mental health law?)

According to the definition on the website, the Mental Health Act is “is created by different individuals and organizations who are concerned for Filipinos with mental health problems, but do not receive the treatment they need and deserve.”

In 2015, the Philippine Mental Health Act was introduced by former Senator (now incoming Taguig representative) Pia Cayetano. The House of Representatives version of the bill was introduced by incoming Vice President Leni Gerona Robredo, representatives Ibarra M. Gutierrez, Walden F. Bello, Kaka J. Bag-ao, Romero S. Quimbo, Karlo Alexei B. Nograles, and Emmi A. de Jesus. 

The bills were not signed into law by the outgoing Aquino administration. – 

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.