Stars react to President Duterte’s first SONA
Stars react to President Duterte’s first SONA
Vice Ganda, Coleen Garcia, Ruffa Gutierrez, Mark Bautista, and more share their thoughts on the State of the Nation Address 2016

MANILA, Philippines – President Rodrigo Duterte delivered his first State of the Nation Address (SONA) on Monday, July 25, and celebrities were quick to share their views on his speech.

Vice Ganda tweeted that he would continue to pray for the President, that he’d be able to do his job well. 


Actress Coleen Garcia said that she found Duterte’s speech “simple, straightforward, and sincere.”


In another tweet she wrote: “I don’t know about you guys, but I have so much love and respect for our President. Wonderful leader!”


She followed it up with, “I know that actions speak louder than words, but this makes me feel hopeful for our nation and our people. God bless us all!”



Coleen added: “Let’s do our part in making sure that this vision becomes a reality. Our leaders can only do so much. The rest has to come from us.”


Duterte’s plans for free wifi in public areas caught singer Mark Bautista’s attention.


Aiza Seguerra, meanwhile, praised Bayang Barrios for singing the National Anthem despite some technical problems.



Actress Ruffa Gutierrez tweeted some quotes from Duterte’s speeches.



In one tweet, Ruffa said she liked the new president for being honest and funny.


Sarah Labhati also tweeted a quote from Duterte’s speech.


Actress Sunshine Cruz said she is looking forward to a better Philippines after hearing Duterte’s speech.


Social media star Kimpoy Feliciano joked about the President’s plans to lower taxes, saying, “More pocket money, mga bes!!



Comedian Ethel Booba also lightened things up by tweeting: “Call 8888 wag magtext baka iregister ka ng Globe sa Unli. Charot!” referencing the 24-hour hotline for citizen complaints that will be launched in August. 


What did you think of Duterte’s SONA? Let us know in the comments section. –





Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.