FULL LIST: Winners, Luna Awards 2016


This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

FULL LIST: Winners, Luna Awards 2016

Rob Reyes

'Heneral Luna' dominates the Film Academy of the Philippines with 10 awards

MANILA, Philippines – The Film Academy of the Philippines held the 34th Luna Awards on Sunday, September 18 at the Quezon City Sports Club.

Heneral Luna, starring John Arcilla, dominated the awards, winning Best Actor, Best Film, Best Supporting Actor for Nonie Buencamino, and Best Director. It also won a number of technical awards.

Bea Alonzo won Best Actress for The Love Affair, while Ana Abad Santos won as Best Supporting Actress for her role in Apocalypse Child.

Batangas Representative Vilma Santos-Recto was honored with the Reel Award, while Jaclyn Jose was given special recognition for winning the Best Actress Award at the Cannes Film Festival. 

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Picture

  • Apocalypse Child (Arkeo Films)
  • The Breakup Playlist (Star Cinema)
  • Crazy Beautiful You (Star Cinema)
  • Felix Manalo (Viva Entertainment)
  • WINNER: Heneral Luna (Artikulo Uno)
  • Honor Thy Father (Reality Entertainment)
  • Kid Kulafu (Ten 17P/Star Cinema)
  • The Love Affair (Star Cinema)
  • That Thing Called Tadhana (Cinema One Originals)

Best Director

  • Mario Cornejo (Apocalypse Child)
  • Antoinette Jadaone (That Thing Called Tadhana)
  • Joel Lamangan (Felix Manalo)
  • Erik Matti (Honor Thy Father)
  • Nuel Naval (The Love Affair)
  • Paul Soriano (Kid Kulafu)
  • WINNER: Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)
  • Dan Villegas (The Breakup Playlist)

Photo by Rob Reyes/Rappler


Best Screenplay

  • WINNER: Henry Francia, E.A. Rocha and Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)
  • Antoinette Jadaone (That Thing Called Tadhana)
  • Antoinette Jadaone (The Breakup Playlist)
  • Jancy Nicolas, Carmi Raymundo, Bianca Bernardino and Maan Dimaculangan-Fampulme (Crazy Beautiful You)
  • Bienvenido C. Santiago (Felix Manalo)
  • Vanessa R. Valdez (The Love Affair)
  • Michiko Yamamoto (Honor Thy Father)

Best Actor

  • WINNER: John Arcilla (Heneral Luna)
  • John Lloyd Cruz (Honor Thy Father)
  • JM de Guzman (That Thing Called Tadhana)
  • Sid Lucero (Apocalypse Child)
  • Dennis Trillo (Felix Manalo)
  • Robert ‘Buboy’ Villar (Kid Kulafu)


Photo by Rob Reyes/Rappler  

Best Actress

  • WINNER: Bea Alonzo (The Love Affair)
  • Angelica Panganiban (That Thing Called Tadhana)
  • Meryll Soriano (Honor Thy Father)
  • Gwen Zamora (Apocalypse Child)
  • Dawn Zulueta (The Love Affair)

Best Supporting Actor

  • RK Bagatsing (Apocalypse Child)
  • Bernardo Bernardo (Imbisibol)
  • WINNER: Nonie Buencamino (Heneral Luna)
  • Tirso Cruz III (Honor They Father)
  • Allen Dizon (Imbisibol)
  • JM de Guzman (Imbisibol)
  • Dennis Padilla (The Breakup Playlist)

Photo by Rob Reyes/Rappler


Best Supporting Actress

  • WINNER: Ana Abad-Santos (Apocalypse Child)
  • Mylene Dizon (Heneral Luna);
  • Annicka Dolonius (Apocalypse Child)
  • Rio Locsin (The Breakup Playlist)
  • Ces Quesada (Imbisibol)
  • Alessandra de Rossi (Kid Kulafu)
  • Lorna Tolentino (Crazy Beautiful You)

Photo by Rob Reyes/Rappler


Best Cinematography

  • Ike Avellana (Apocalypse Child)
  • Tey Clamor (Ex With Benefits)
  • Odyssey Flores (Kid Kulafu)
  • WINNER: Pong Ignacio (Heneral Luna)
  • Rody Lacap (Felix Manalo)
  • Boy Yniguez (Tragic Theater)

Best Production Design

  • Cristina Dy (Apocalpyse Child)
  • Edgar Martin Littaua (Felix Manalo)
  • Joey Luna (Kid Kulafu)
  • Ericsson Navarro (Honor Thy Father)
  • WINNER: Benjamin Padero and Carlo Tabije (Heneral Luna)

Best Editing

  • Beng Bandong (The Love Affair)
  • Jay Halili (Honor Thy Father)
  • Marya Ignacio (Crazy Beautiful You)
  • WINNER: Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)
  • Benjamin Tolentino (Ex with Benefits)
  • Benjamin Tolentino (That Thing Called Tadhana)
  • Mark Victor (Kid Kulafu)

Best Musical Scoring

  • Robbie Factoran, Ricardo Jugo and Mark Villar (Kid Kulafu)
  • Von de Guzman (Felix Manalo)
  • Jesse Lucas (Crazy Beautiful You)
  • Erwin Romulo (Honor Thy Father)
  • WINNER: Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)
  • Emerzon Texon (That Thing Called Tadhana)
  • Emerzon Texon (Tragic Theater)

Best Sound

  • Aurel Claro Bilbao (The Love Affair)
  • Bebet Casas and Roy Santos (Para sa Hopeless Romantic)
  • Alberto Michael Idioma and Lamberto Casas Jr. (Felix Manalo)
  • Arnel Labayo (Crazy Beautiful You)
  • Arnel Labayo (Ex with Benefits)
  • WINNER: Mikko Quizon (Heneral Luna)
  • Mikko Quizon (Kid Kulafu)
  • Addis Tabong (The Breakup Playlist)
  • Addiss Tabong (That Thing Called Tadhana)
  • Alex Tomboc and Alberto Michael Idioma (Tragic Theater)


Golden Reel Award – Vilma Santos-Recto

Fernando Poe Jr Lifetime Achievement Award – Emmanuel Borlaza

Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements – Herminio “Butch” Bautista

Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award – Azucena “Nene” Vera Perez

Plaque of Recognition – Jaclyn Jose 

– Rappler.com

Editor’s note: The story has been corrected to reflect that That Thing Called Tadhana is from Cinema One Originals. 

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI