Cinema One Originals 2012 winners
Here are this year's festival winners straight from the just-concluded awards night

MANILA, Philippines – Cinema One Originals Festival 2012 held their awards night on December 3 at the ABS-CBN Dolphy Theater. 

Matteo Guidicelli and Megan Young hosted the program.

The 13 feature films in competition were:

  • Mariposa sa Hawla ng Gabi
  • Mater Dolorosa
  • Baybayin
  • Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim
  • Catnip
  • Melodrama Negra
  • Slumber Party
  • Pascalina
  • Anak Araw
  • Edsa XXX
  • Aberya
  • Palitan
  • Mamay Umeng

The winners:

1) Audience Choice – Melodrama Negra by Ma. Isabel Legarda

2) SunShorts Viewer’s Choice Award – 1945 by Jun Reyes (presented by Tara Cabullo)

3) Best Sound – Aberya

4) Best Musical Score – Catnip

5) Best Editing – Kevin Dayrit for Catnip

6) Best Production Design – Michael Espanol for Mariposa sa Hawla ng Gabi

7) Best Cinematography – Danilo Salas III for Anak Araw

8) Best Supporting Actress – Ria Garcia for Melodrama Negra

9) Best Supporting Actor – Nicholas Varela for Aberya

10) Best Actress – Mara Lopez for Palitan

11) Best Actor – Alex Medina for Palitan

12) Special Awardee/Philippine Cinema’s Most Celebrated Filmmaker – Peque Gallaga (presented by Lore Reyes)

13) Best Screenplay – Kein Dayrit for Catnip

14) Best Director – Kevin Dayrit for Catnip

15) Special Jury Prize – Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim by Arnel Mardoquio

16) Best Picture – Pascalina by Pam Miras

This year’s jury members are filmmaker Joyce Bernal, film critic and journalist Paolo Bertolin, Asian cinema expert Stephin Cremin, actor Sid Lucero, award-winning fictionist Dr. Alvin Yapan, PhD.

Cinema One Originals will run at Robinsons Galleria Movieworld until December 9 and Shangri-La Mall Cineplex until December 4. –


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.