FULL LIST: Winners, MTV Video Music Awards 2017

Kendrick Lamar wins Video of the Year

BIG NIGHT. Kendrick Lamar performs and takes some of the big awards at the MTV Video Music Awards 2017. Screengrab from Instagram/@mtv

MANILA, Philippines – The MTV Video Music Awards was held on Sunday, August 27 at The Forum in California with Kendrick Lamar winning many of the awards including Video of the Year and Best Hip-Hop for his music video “Humble.”

P!nk received this year’s Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award for her contribution to music. She delivered a heartfelt message about being true to oneself.

With the recent events happening in the US, most notably the violence in Charlottesville, Virginia, MTV honored 6 artists with the Fight Against the System award. Susan Bro, mother of Heather Hayes who was killed in the Charlottesville incident, led the tribute and announced the launch of a foundation named after her daughter.

Jared Leto led the tribute to the late Linkin Park singer Chester Bennington and Chris Cornell. 


Katy Perry hosted the event. She also performed with Nicki Minaj to close the show.

Here’s the list of winners:

Video of the Year

  • WINNER: Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.”
  • Bruno Mars – “24K Magic”
  • Alessia Cara – “Scars To Your Beautiful”
  • DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts”
  • The Weeknd – “Reminder”


Artist of the Year

  • Bruno Mars
  • Kendrick Lamar
  • WINNER: Ed Sheeran
  • Ariana Grande
  • The Weeknd
  • Lorde


Best New Artist (Presented by Taco Bell)

  • WINNER: Khalid
  • Kodak Black
  • SZA
  • Young M.A
  • Julia Michaels
  • Noah Cyrus

Best Collaboration

  • Charlie Puth ft. Selena Gomez – “We Don’t Talk Anymore”
  • DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts”
  • D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty – “Broccoli”
  • The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey – “Closer”
  • Calvin Harris ft. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry & Big Sean – “Feels”
  • WINNER: Zayn & Taylor Swift – “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever (Fifty Shades Darker)”


Best Pop

  • Shawn Mendes – “Treat You Better”
  • Ed Sheeran – “Shape Of You”
  • Harry Styles – “Sign Of The Times”
  • WINNER: Fifth Harmony ft. Gucci Mane – “Down”
  • Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley – “Chained To The Rhythm”
  • Miley Cyrus – “Malibu”


Best Hip Hop

  • WINNER: Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.”
  • Big Sean – “Bounce Back”
  • Chance the Rapper – “Same Drugs”
  • D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty – “Broccoli”
  • Migos ft. Lil Uzi Vert – “Bad & Boujee”
  • DJ Khaled ft. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper & Lil Wayne – “I’m The One”


Best Dance

  • WINNER; Zedd and Alessia Cara – “Stay”
  • Kygo x Selena Gomez – “It Ain’t Me”
  • Calvin Harris – “My Way”
  • Major Lazer ft. Justin Bieber and MØ – “Cold Water”
  • Afrojack ft. Ty Dolla $ign – “Gone”


Best Rock

  • Coldplay – “A Head Full Of Dreams”
  • Fall Out Boy – “Young And Menace”
  • WINNER: Twenty One Pilots – “Heavydirtysoul”
  • Green Day – “Bang Bang”
  • Foo Fighters – “Run”


Best Fight Against the System (All Honored)

  • Logic ft. Damian Lemar Hudson – “Black SpiderMan”
  • The Hamilton Mixtape – “Immigrants (We Get the Job Done)”
  • Big Sean – “Light”
  • Alessia Cara – “Scars To Your Beautiful”
  • Taboo ft. Shailene Woodley – “Stand Up / Stand N Rock #NoDAPL”
  • John Legend – “Surefire”


Best Cinematography

  • WINNER: Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Cinematographer: Scott Cunningham)
  • Imagine Dragons – “Thunder” (Cinematographer: Matthew Wise)
  • Ed Sheeran – “Castle On The Hill” (Cinematographer: Steve Annis)
  • DJ Shadow ft. Run The Jewels – “Nobody Speak” (Cinematographer: David Proctor)
  • Halsey – “Now Or Never” (Cinematographer: Kristof Brandl)


Best Direction

  • Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Directors: Dave Meyers, The Little Homies)
  • Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley – “Chained To The Rhythm” (Director: Mathew Cullen)
  • Bruno Mars – “24K Magic” (Directors: Cameron Duddy, Bruno Mars)
  • Alessia Cara – “Scars To Your Beautiful” (Director: Aaron A)
  • The Weeknd – “Reminder” (Director: Glenn Michael)


Best Art Direction

  • WINNER: Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Production Designer: Spencer Graves)
  • Bruno Mars – “24K Magic” (Production Designer: Alex Delgado)
  • Katy Perry ft. Migos – “Bon Appetit” (Production Designer: Natalie Groce)
  • DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts” (Production Designer: Damian Fyffe)
  • The Weeknd – “Reminder” (Production Designers: Lamar C Taylor, Christo Anesti)


Best Visual Effects

  • WINNER: Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Company: Timber/Lead: Jonah Hall)
  • A Tribe Called Quest – “Dis Generation” (Company: Bemo/Lead: Brandon Hirzel)
  • KYLE ft. Lil Yachty – “iSpy” (Company: Gloria FX/Leads: Max Colt & Tomash Kuzmytskyi)
  • Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley – “Chained To The Rhythm” (Company: MIRADA)
  • Harry Styles – “Sign Of The Times” (Company: ONE MORE/Lead: Cédric Nivoliez)


Best Choreography

  • WINNER; Kanye West – “Fade” (Choreographers: Teyana Taylor, Guapo, Jae Blaze, Derek ‘Bentley’ Watkins)
  • Ariana Grande ft. Nicki Minaj – “Side To Side” (Choreographers: Brian & Scott Nicholson)
  • Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (Choreographer: Dave Meyers)
  • Sia – “The Greatest” (Choreographer: Ryan Heffington)
  • Fifth Harmony ft. Gucci Mane – “Down” (Choreographer: Sean Bankhead)


Best Editing

  • Future – “Mask Off” (Editor: Vinnie Hobbs of VHPost)
  • WINNER: Young Thug – “Wyclef Jean” (Editors: Ryan Staake, Eric Degliomini)
  • Lorde – “Green Light” (Editor: Nate Gross of Exile Edit)
  • The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey – “Closer” (Editor: Jennifer Kennedy)
  • The Weeknd – “Reminder” (Editor: Red Barbaza)


Song of the summer:

  • Daddy Yankee and Luis Fonsi, ft. Justin Bieber — “Despacito (Remix)”
  • Ed Sheeran — “Shape of You”
  • Shawn Mendes — “There’s Nothing Holding Me Back”
  • Demi Lovato — “Sorry Not Sorry”
  • DJ Khaled Feat. Rihanna and Bryson Tiller — “Wild Thoughts”
  • Camila Cabello Feat. Quavo — “OMG”
  • Fifth Harmony Feat. Gucci Mane — “Down”
  • WINNER: Lil Uzi Vert — “XO Tour Llif3”

Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award: P!nk

– Rappler.com