IN PHOTOS: Veteran actors recognized at PMPC Star Awards for Movies 2019
12 veteran actors are given the 'Mga Natatanging Bituin ng Siglo' award during the PMPC Star Awards for Movies 2019

SPECIAL RECOGNITION. Christopher de Leon, Niño Muhlach, Ramon Revilla Sr and son Bong, Gloria Romero, Eddie Garcia, Phillip Salvador, and Tirso Cruz III are recognized for their contribution in Pilippine Cinema. All photo by Dion Besa/Rappler

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippine Movie Press Club on Sunday, June 2, honored 12 of the country’s top actors and actresses with the Natatanging Bituin ng Siglo awards, recognizing their contribution in Philippine Cinema during its 2019 Star Awards for Movies.

The awardees are:

  • Nora Aunor
  • Tirso Cruz III
  • Christopher De Leon
  • Joseph “Erap” Estrada
  • Eddie Garcia
  • Anita Linda
  • Niño Muhlach
  • Ramon Revilla Sr
  • Susan Roces
  • Gloria Romero,
  • Phillip Salvador
  • Vilma Santos

Nora, Erap, Anita, Susan, and Vilma were unable to attend the awards but relatives and friends accepted the awards on their behalf.

Aside from the actors, the past presidents of the PMPC were also recognized for their contributions. The past presidents are: 

  • Ethel Ramos (PMPC President in 1969, 1970, and 1973)
  • Ronald Constantino (PMPC President in 1974 and 1975)
  • Letty Celi (PMPC President in 1988 and 1989),
  • Veronica Samio (PMPC President in 1990, 1991, and 1992)

The night was also filled with look backs of popular dances that were part of Filipino movies in celebration of Philippine cinema’s 100 years.

Robi Domingo, Aljur Abrenica, Arci Muñoz, Kathryn Bernardo, Gelli de Belen, and Iza Calzado served as the evening’s hosts.

Tirso Cruz III


Christopher de Leon


Niño Muhlach


Ramon Revilla Sr


Eddie Garcia


Gloria Romero


Phillip Salvador


Dante Rivero — Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Award


Laurice Guillen — Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula Sa Likod ng Camera


Julian Trono and Jameson Blake



Zeus Collins and Heaven Peralejo



Kira Balinger, Marco Gallo, and Belle Mariano

Kira Balinger, AC Bonifacio, and Belle Mariano


Maja Salvador


Ogie Alcasid — Best Actor

Kathryn Bernardo — Best Actress