Nora Aunor, Eddie Garcia win at Asian Film Awards
Aunor is Best Actress for her role in 'Thy Womb,' while Garcia is Best Actor for 'Bwakaw'

Nora Aunor at a set for an interview in Manila. RAPPLER/John Javellana


MANILA, Philippines – Fans of Philippine cinema can wave their flag with pride now that Nora Aunor and Eddie Garcia have been awarded the top acting honors at the recently concluded 7th Asian Film Awards in Hong Kong. reports that Last March 18, Nora Aunor received the Best Actress Award from award presenter Eugene Domingo who won Best Actress People’s Choice Award last year.

Aunor earned her trophy from her powerful portrayal of a barren Badjao midwife in the Brillante Mendoza opus “Thy Womb.” She beat South Korea’s Cho Min-Soo (“Pieta”), Taiwan’s Gwei Lun-mei (“GF*BF”), Afghanistan’s Golshifteh Farahani (“The Patience Stone”) and China’s Hao Lei (“Mystery”).

ENRAPTURED. An enraptured Nora Aunor accepts her Best Actress trophy. Photo from 'Thy Womb' Facebook page

BEST ACTORS. Nora Aunor and Eddie Garcia bolster Pinoy pride after winning top acting honors at the 7th Asian Film Awards. Photo from 'Thy Womb' Facebook pageGarcia won two trophies for playing a grouchy gay man waiting for his death in the company of his dog in “Bwakaw.” Aside from bagging the Best Actor Award, he also won the Best Actor People’s Choice Award.

He bested South Korea’s Choi Min-sik (“Nameless Gangster: Rules Of The Time”), Taiwan’s Joseph Chang (“GF*BF”), China’s Liu Ye (“The Last Supper”) and Hong Kong’s Tony Leung Ka Fai (“Cold War”).

These two wins are already Garcia’s second and third awards for “Bwakaw.” In December, he won Best Actor at the 55th Asia Pacific Film Festival in Macau.

Aunor’s “Thy Womb” performance also got noticed at the Asia Pacific Screen Awards in Australia where she was named Best Actress. Brillante Mendoza also bagged the Best Director prize for “Thy Womb.”

According to, the winner of the coveted Best Film Award is “Mystery” by Chinese director Lou Ye, a psychological drama about a man with two wives leading a double life.

Watch red carpet footage of the 7th Asian Film Festival here:

The Asia Film Awards is presented every year by the Hong Kong International Film Festival Society. Last year, it also honoured Shamaine Buencamino as Best Supporting Actress for “Niño.”

Though Nora Aunor and “Thy Womb” have garnered several international and local film awards, the film is not a commercial hit. Last December, it was pulled out of the Metro Manila Film Festival by festival organizers due to low ticket sales. This despite “Thy Womb’s” Brillante Mendoza bagging Best Director at the MMFF Awards.

Here is the list of winners and nominees:

Best Film

Winner: “Mystery” (China) 


  • “Drug War” (China)
  • “Gangs of Wasseypur, Part 1 & 2” (India)
  •  “Outrage Beyond” (Japan)
  • “Pieta” (South Korea)

Best Director

Winner: Takeshi Kitano, “Outrage Beyond” (Japan)


  • Anurag Kashyap, “Gangs of Wasseypur, Part 1 & 2” (India)
  • Abbas Kiarostami, “Like Someone in Love” (Japan/France/Iran)
  • Kim Ki-duk, “Pieta” (South Korea)
  • Lou Ye, “Mystery” (Mainland China)


Best Actor

Winner: Eddie Garcia, “Bwakaw” (Philippines)


  • Joseph Chang, “GF*BF” (Taiwan)
  • Choi Min-sik, “Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time” (South Korea)
  • Tony Leung Ka-fai, “Cold War” (Hong Kong)
  • Liu Ye, “The Last Supper” (China) 

Best Actress

Winner: Nora Aunor, “Thy Womb” (Philippines)


  • Cho Min-soo, “Pieta” (South Korea)
  • Golshifteh Farahani, “The Patience Stone” (Afghanistan)
  • Gwei Lun-mei, “GF*BF” (Taiwan)
  • Hao Lei, “Mystery” (China)


Best Newcomer

Winner: Qi Xi, “Mystery” (China)


  • Chien Man-shu, “When a Wolf Falls in Love With a Sheep” (Taiwan)
  • Masahiro Higashide, “The Kirishima Thing” (Japan)
  • Huang Yu-siang, “Touch of the Light” (Taiwan)
  • Kim Sung-kyun, “Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time” (South Korea)

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Nawazuddin Siddiqui, “The Answer Lies Within” (India)


  • Ha Jung-woo, “Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time” (South Korea)
  • Ryo Kase, “Like Someone in Love” (Japan/France/Iran)
  • Chapman To, “Diva” (Hong Kong)
  • Rhydian Vaughan, “GF*BF” (Taiwan)

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Makiko Watanabe, “Capturing Dad” (Japan)


  • Jun Ji-hyun, “The Thieves” (South Korea)
  • Kim Hye-soo, “The Thieves” (South Korea)
  • Li Lieh, “Together” (Taiwan)
  • Qin Lan, “The Last Supper” (China)

Best Screenwriter

Winner: Mei Feng, Yu Fan, Lou Ye, “Mystery” (China) – WINNER


  • Anand Gandhi, “Ship of Theseus” (India)
  • Kohei Kiyasu, Daihachi Yoshida, “The Kirishima Thing” (Japan)
  • Wai Ka-fai, Yau Nai-hoi, Ryker Chan, Yu Xi, “Drug War” (China)
  • Yun Jong-bin, “Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time” (South Korea)

Best Cinematographer

Winner: Touraj Aslani, “Rhino Season” (Iraqi Kurdistan/Turkey)


  • Choi Young-hwan, “The Thieves” (South Korea)
  • Rajeev Ravi, “Gangs of Wasseypur, Part 1 & 2” (India)
  • Katsumi Yanagijima, “Like Someone in Love” (Japan/France/Iran)
  •  Zhang Li, Ma Cheng, “The Last Supper” (China)


Best Production Designer

Winner: Bahman Ghobadi, Ali Daryai, “Rhino Season” (Iraqi Kurdistan/Turkey)


  • Cho Hwa-sung, “Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time” (South Korea)
  • Wasiq Khan, “Gangs of Wasseypur, Part 1 & 2” (India)
  • Man Lim-chung, “The Silent War” (China/Hong Kong)
  • Yee Chung-man, Eric Lam Chi-kiu, “The Last Tycoon” (China/Hong Kong)

Best Composer

Winner: Pritam Chakraborty, “Barfi!” (India)


  • Jo Yeong-wook, “Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time” (South Korea)
  • Peyman Yazdanian, Johann Johannsson, “Mystery” (China)
  • Keiichi Suzuki, “Outrage Beyond” (Japan)
  • Koji Ueno, “The Floating Castle” (Japan)

Best Editor

Winner: Mototaka Kusakabe, “The Kirishima Thing” (Japan)


  • Takeshi Kitano, Yoshinori Ohta, “Outrage Beyond” (Japan)
  • Valerie Loiseleux, “Rhino Season” (Iraqi Kurdistan/Turkey)
  • David Richardson, Allen Leung, “Drug War” (Mainland China)
  • Shin Min-kyung, “The Thieves” (South Korea)

Best Visual Effects

Winner: Farbod Khoshtinat, “Rhino Season” (Iraqi Kurdistan/Turkey)


  • Chas Chau, Lewis Chan, Benson Poon, Johnny Lin, “When a Wolf Falls in Love With a Sheep” (Taiwan)
  • Kwak Tae-yong, Hwang Hyokyun, Lim Jung-hoon, “Doomsday Book” (South Korea)
  • Lee In-ho, Je Young-ho, “Soar Into the Sun” (South Korea)
  • Katsuro Onoue, Tetsuo Oya, Atsuki Sato, Minami Tsujino, “The Floating Castle” (Japan)

Best Costume Designer

Winner: Man Lim-chung, “The Silent War” (China/Hong Kong)


  • Chen Xue-bing, Zhong Jia-ni, “The Last Supper” (China)
  • Jessie Dai Mei-ling, Chan Chi-man, “The Last Tycoon” (China/Hong Kong)
  • Kwak Jung-ae, “A Werewolf Boy” (South Korea)
  • Mitsuru Otsuka, Kazuta Matsunaga, Akihiko Inamura, “The Floating Castle” (Japan)

-With reports from Pia Ranada/


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.