Metro Manila Film Festival

‘Fan Girl’ dominates MMFF 2020 Gabi ng Parangal

Bea Cupin
‘Fan Girl’ dominates MMFF 2020 Gabi ng Parangal

BIG WINNER. 'Fan Girl' was the top winner of the 2020 MMFF, winning 8 awards including Best Picture.

Photo courtesy of BlackSheep

'Fan Girl' wins 8 out of the 9 awards it is nominated in
‘Fan Girl’ dominates MMFF 2020 Gabi ng Parangal

Fan Girl, a dark coming-of-age movie about a young girl’s obsession with her idol, dominated the 46th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Gabi ng Parangal on Sunday, December 27, winning 8 of the 9 awards it was nominated in.

The movie, directed by Antoinette Jadaone, won 8 awards during the online awards night, including best picture, best director, and the best actors and actress awards for its leads Paulo Avelino and Charlie Dizon.

Fan Girl first premiered at the Tokyo International Film Festival and competed at the Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival before its wide release locally via the MMFF.

Magikland, a fantasy movie set in a fictional world of the same name, won 5 awards, including best visual effects, production design, and musical score. The Boy Foretold by the Stars, a coming-of-age romcom about two boys who find each other during a school retreat, won 3 awards including the gender sensitivity award and second best picture.

Gabi ng Parangal winners:

Best Virtual Float: Magikland (Isa Pang Bahaghari in 2nd; Fan Girl in 3rd)

Best Student Short Film: Paano Maging Babae

Best Visual Effects: Magikland – Richard Francia, Ryan Grimarez (Central Digital Lab)

Best Production Design: Magikland – Ericson Navarro

Best Musical Score: Magikland – Emerzon Texon

Best Editing: Fan Girl – Benjamin Tolentino

Best Cinematography: Fan Girl – Neil Daza

Best Original Theme Song: “Ulan” by Jhay Cura/Pau Protacio – The Boy Foretold by the Stars

Best Sound: Fan Girl – Vincent Villa

FPJ Memorial Award: Magikland

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Suarez: The Healing Priest

Gender Sensitivity Award: The Boy Foretold by the Stars

Special Jury Prize: Peque Gallaga

Manay Ichu Vera-Perez Maceda Memorial Award: Gloria Romero

Best Screenplay: Fan Girl – Antoinette Jadaone

Best Child Performer: Seiyo Masunaga – The Missing

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Shaina Magdayao – Tagpuan

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Michael de Mesa – Isa Pang Bahaghari

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Paulo Avelino – Fan Girl

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Charlie Dizon – Fan Girl 

Best Director: Antoinette Jadaone – Fan Girl

Best Picture: Fan Girl (The Boy Foretold by the Stars in 2nd; Tagpuan in 3rd)

MMFF goes online

For a while, the movie industry was unsure if the MMFF would even push through. Health and safety protocols in the Philippines have thus far kept most movie theaters closed or with limited seating capacities.

This year’s MMFF went purely online, with all entries streaming via Upstream and GMovies. The festival expanded its lineup to 10 movies instead of the usual 8.

Must Read

How to watch the 2020 MMFF movies

How to watch the 2020 MMFF movies

The MMFF is a yearly festival organized by the Metro Manila Development Authority. This year, it was co-presented by Globe Telecom.

Normally, during the MMFF, movie theaters worldwide are allowed to screen only movies that are part of the festival.

All 10 MMFF 2020 entries will be available to stream via Upstream until January 7, 2021. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.


Bea Cupin

Bea is a senior multimedia reporter who covers national politics. She's been a journalist since 2011 and has written about Congress, the national police, and the Liberal Party for Rappler.