Binibining Pilipinas 2021: What are the crowns at stake?

The finals for Binibining Pilipinas 2021 happens on Sunday, July 11, and fans are excited to find out which candidates will be taking home the four crowns at stake.

Binibining Pilipinas Charities, Inc holds the franchise for 4 international pageants – Miss International, Miss Grand International, Miss Globe, and Miss Intercontinental.

Miss International

The Miss International 2019 title currently belongs to Sireethorn Leearamwat of Thailand. She was crowned during the 59th Miss International pageant on November 12, 2019 at the Tokyo Dome City Hall in Tokyo, Japan. She succeeded Mariem Velazco of Venezuela.

Philippine bet and fan favorite Patch Magtanong placed in the top eight.

The Philippines has placed in the finals many times, with the most recent win being model and actress Kylie Versoza, who won the crown in 2016. Bea Rose Santiago won the title in 2013.

The 60th edition of the Japan-based pageant will be held in November 2021 at Yokohama City, Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan, with pre-pageant events slatted in October. The Miss International organization postponed the 2020 pageant twice due to the pandemic.

Miss Grand International

The current Miss Grand International is Abena Appiah of the United States, the first US winner of the crown. She was crowned on March 27, 2021 at the Show DC Hall in Bangkok, Thailand, succeeding 2019 titleholder Valentina Figuera of Venezuela. Philippine bet Samantha Bernardo placed first runner-up in the pageant.

Miss Grand International, which launched in 2013, has only seven queens so far. Its core advocacy is spreading the message of happiness and with a mission of "stopping the war and violence" worldwide.

Three Philippine candidates have placed in the international pageant – Filipina-Australian Elizabeth Clenci was second runner-up in 2017, Manila's Nicole Cordoves was first runner-up in 2016, and Pangasinan's Parul Shah was third runner-up in 2015.

As of posting, Miss Grand International has yet to announce when its next pageant will take place.

Miss Intercontinental

In 2019, Hungarian bet Fanni Miko won the title of Miss Intercontinental, with USA, Thailand, South Africa, and Peru as first, second, third, and fourth runner-up, respectively. The pageant was held in Sharm El Sheik, Egypt at the SUNRISE Montemare Resort.

Kapampangan bet Emma Mary Tiglao made it to the Top 20 and won the Miss Popularity award.

The Philippines' Karen Gallman took home the Miss Intercontinental 2018 crown in the finals held at the the SM Mall of Asia Arena, succeeding Veronica Salas Vallejo of Mexico. She is the first Filipina to win the title, after a second runner-up finish in 2014 and two first runner-up positions in 2015 and 2017.

Miss Intercontinental was first founded in 1971 in Oranjestad, Aruba as a promotional event for Aruba tourism with just 35 contestants. The 49th 2020 edition is happening in the same host city on October 29, 2021.

Miss Globe

Kosovo's Lorinda Kolgecio is the current Miss Globe 2020 titleholder, with Siberia's Matveeva Evgenia as first runner-up and Ghana's Naomi Chioma Anene as second runner-up. Philippine candidate Rowena Sasaluya won fourth runner-up and People's Choice Award during the pageant held in Albania on November 12, 2020.

In 2019, Mexico's Alejandra Díaz de León was Miss Globe 2019, followed by first runner-up Carla Jean Lares from Trinidad and Tobago and Filipina beauty Leren Mae Bautista from Laguna, who was crowned second runner-up in Ulcinj, Montenegro on October 2019.

The Canada-founded Miss Globe pageant has seen two Philippine crown-holders so far since its launch in 2001 – Maricar Balagtas, who won in its founding year, and Ann Lorraine Colis in 2015. Nelda Ibe took home the first runner-up crown in 2017 in Albania. –

Steph Arnaldo

If she’s not writing about food, she’s probably thinking about it. From advertising copywriter to freelance feature writer, Steph Arnaldo finally turned her part-time passion into a full-time career. She’s written about food, lifestyle, and wellness for Rappler since 2018.