Entrance to the National Museum now ‘permanently’ free


This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Entrance to the National Museum now ‘permanently’ free
Admission is now permanently free of charge for all visitors

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – It’s been a day of new beginnings as the nation’s new leaders assumed office on June 30, Thursday, but in addition to the good vibes, the National Museum has announced that entrance is “permanently free of charge for all visitors, Filipino or foreign, to its museums nationwide.” (READ: Rediscovering, revisiting the National Museum)

The Board of Trustees of the National Museum is implementing a new policy, effective by July 1, “in order to build upon significant spikes in viewership, especially among younger Filipinos, that have been observed in 2013-2015 and to date in 2016,” it said in a Facebook post.


This pattern was especially observed during special occasions such as National Arts Month in February, National Heritage Month (May), and National Museums and Galleries Month (October).

The statement continued, “Enhancing universal access by all Filipinos to what we proudly exhibit as our national patrimony and heritage has always been a primary concern, and with this new policy we hope to reach more people than ever before, both by encouraging visits to our museums, and by bringing the National Museum’s programs and resources to communities throughout the national capital and all the regions of our archipelago.”

“By this measure of free admission, which is supported, in terms of the nationwide operations of the Agency, by a solid institutional budget drawn ultimately from all Filipino taxpayers through the national budget, we hope to better achieve our goals, and fulflling expectations, of serving as a true national museum institution dedicated to the benefit of the entire Filipino people and the wider world.”

The National Museum of the Philippines, located in the City of Manila, is also a “regulatory and enforcement agency of the Government with respect to a series of cultural laws, and is responsible for various culturally significant properties, sites and reservations throughout the country.” 

It has 14 branches and flagship museums, which includes the National Art Gallery, Museum of the Filipino People, and National Planetarium. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI