Asian Games

7 more countries get visa-free stay in PH

Carol Ramoran
7 more countries get visa-free stay in PH
Nationals from more countries will get the chance to experience the sights in the Philippines – without the paperwork that goes with applying for a visa
MANILA, Philippines – The Phiippines opens its doors a bit wider for the international community, adding 7 more to its list of countries with visa-free privileges.

In a statement, the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) announced that passport holders of countries Belize, Croatia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan will now be able to enjoy 30 days of visa-free stay in the country.

The move aims to promote tourism and investments from all 7 countries that have been emerging as key players in the international economic community and which have growing bilateral ties with the Philippines.

“The DFA fully supports national efforts to attract more tourists and potential investors to the Philippines. In particular, the DFA, through its various embassies and consulates abroad, has been playing an active role in helping the Department of Tourism reach its target of 10 million foreign tourist arrivals by 2015,” said DFA Undersecretary Rafael E. Seguis.

To visit the Philippines visa-free, nationals of countries included on the list can avail of the privilege by presenting a national passport valid for at least 6 months beyond the contemplated period of stay and a return ticket to the country of origin or onward ticket to the next country of destination.

The Philippines allows nationals from the following countries to visit the Philippines for 30 days without a visa: 

Andorra Cyprus Italy The Netherlands Suriname
Angola Czech Republic Jamaica New Zealand Swaziland
Antigua and Barbuda Democratic Republic of Congo Japan Nicaragua Sweden
Argentina Denmark Kazakhstan Niger Switzerland
Australia Djibouti Kenya Norway Tajikistan
Austria Dominica Kiribati Oman Thailand
Bahamas Dominican Republic Kuwait Palau Togo
Bahrain Ecuador Kyrgyzstan Panama Trinidad and Tobago
Barbados El Salvador Lao People’s Democratic Republic Papua New Guinea Tunisia
Belgium Equatorial Guinea Latvia Paraguay Turkey
Belize Eritrea Lesotho Peru Turkmenistan
Benin Estonia Liberia Poland Tuvalu
Bhutan Ethiopia Liechtenstein Portugal Uganda
Bolivia Fiji Lithuania Qatar United Arab Emirates
Botswana Finland Luxembourg Rapublic of Korea United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Brazil* France Madagascar Romania United Republic of Tanzania
Brunei Darussalam


Gabon Malawai Russia United States of America
Bulgaria Gambia Malaysia Rwanda Uruguay
Burkina Faso Germany Maldives Saint Kitts and Nevis Uzbekistan
Burundi Ghana Mali Saint Lucia Vanuatu
Cambodia Greece Malta Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Vatican
Cameroon Grenada Marshall Islands Samoa Venezuela
Canada Guatemala Mauritania San Marino Vietnam
Cape Verde Guinea Mauritius Sao Tome and Principe Zambia
Central African Republic Guinea Bissau Mexico Saudi Arabia Zimbabwe
Chad Guyana Micronesia Senegal

Chile Haiti Monaco Seychelles  
Colombia Honduras Mongolia Singapore  
Comoros Hungary Morocco Slovak Republic  
Congo Iceland Mozambique Slovenia  
Costa Rica Indonesia Myanmar Solomon Islands  
Cote d’Ivoire Ireland Namibia South Africa  
Croatia Israel* Nepal Spain  

Source: DFA

Israeli and Brazilian passport holders get to stay in the Philippines for 59 days due to existing bilateral agreements while Somalia has been removed from the list of countries whose nationals enjoy visa-free privilege. Somali nationals may apply for visas at Philippine embassies or consulates in their countries of origin or residence.

Citizens of the following countries are allowed a 14-day stay in the country visa-free:

  • Hong Kong Special Administrative (SAR)
  • Macau Special Administrative Region (SAR) 

Staying in the Philippines no-longer than 7 days without a visa is allowed for the following:

  • Holders of Macau-Portuguese passports
  • Holders of Hong Kong British passports 


Japan also looking into ‘relaxed’ visa requirements

The Philippines isn’t the only country looking into strengthening its tourism sector. Kyodo News reports that the Japanese government is mulling a visa waiver for tourists coming from the Philippines, Indonesia, and Vietnam.

Kyodo adds that the initiative is aimed at “drawing more tourists from Southeast Asia, including the Muslim population in the region, is envisioned as Japan seeks to achieve its goal of increasing the annual number of foreign visitors to 20 million in the run-up to the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.”

Around 110,000 Filipinos visited Japan in 2013 despite the stringent visa requirements. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.