How Cagayan de Oro voted during the 2010 presidential elections

Lyle Justin Egay
How Cagayan de Oro voted during the 2010 presidential elections
A day before the votes are cast, let’s look back at CDO's performance 6 years ago. How did the national candidates fare in CDO during the 2010 elections?

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY, Philippines – Who did Kagay-anons vote for in the last presidential elections? This year, who will they choose to place in the national government come Monday, May 9

The electoral race has been just as heated in Cagayan de Oro City as in the national arena, particularly after the first leg of the PiliPinas debates transpired in the “City of Golden Friendship.” The local Commission on Elections (COMELEC) also noted the increase in the number of voters for this year’s elections. 

Besides being home to 305,321 registered voters for the May 9 polls, the capital of Misamis Oriental serves as the growth corridor and central business hub of Region 10 (Northern Mindanao), the second most vote-rich region in Mindanao with 2.46 million registered voters.

A recent survey by the Kinaadman Research Center reveals that most Kagay-anons would support the presidential bid of Davao City Mayor Rodrigo “Rody” Duterte, while Liberal Party bet Leni Robredo led the vice presidential race. 

A day before the votes are cast, let’s look back at CDO’s performance 6 years ago. How did the national candidates fare in CDO during the 2010 elections? 

Golden, but not yellow 

The Liberal Party fell short in CDO, with former President Joseph Ejercito “Erap” Estrada and then-Makati Mayor and current United Nationalist Party (UNA) nominee Jejomar Binay edging out then-senators Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III and his then running mate Mar Roxas, the current LP presidential bet.

Estrada garnered 45.28% with 93,767 votes, while Aquino only got 69,554, comprising only 33.59%.  

Meanwhile, then-Secretary of the Department of National Defense Gilbert “Gibo” Teodoro came in third with 9.58%, former Senate President Manuel “Manny” Villar polled with 6.41%, and Jesus is Lord (JIL) Church President Eduardo “Eddie” Villanueva got 3.21%.

Senator Richard “Dick” Gordon got 0.94%, sustainable development guru Nicanor Perlas got 0.14%, Olongapo City Councilor JC Delos Reyes got 0.10%, and Senator Jamby Madrigal got 0.08% of the votes. 

Lastly, 1,399 voters opted for disqualified presidentiable Vetellano Acosta. 

Among the vice presidential candidates in 2010, Binay came out on top with 115,938 votes, getting 56.39% of the total turnout. Roxas went second with 70,116, or 34.11%.

Trailing the VP race were Senator Loren Legarda with 4.67%, MMDA Chairman Bayani Fernando with 2.21%, former Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Chair Perfecto “Jun” Yasay Jr with 1.44%, Eduardo “Edu” Manzano with 0.93%, newscaster Jose “Jay” Sonza with 0.17%, and Dominador Chipeco Jr. with 0.08%. 

Magic 12: NorMin’s own 

In CDO, two Mindanaon senatorial candidates made it to the local top twelve, but neither made it to the final slate.  

LP’s Nereus “Neric” Acosta Jr. and Nacionalista Party’s Gwendolyn “Gwen” Pimentel-Gana garnered 101,338 (5.03%) and 93,872 (4.66%) votes, respectively. 

Born and raised in Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon, Acosta is the current Presidential Adviser for Environmental Protection, as well as the General Manager of the Laguna Lake Development Authority. Pimentel-Gana, the daughter of Kagay-anon Senator Aquilino “Nene” Pimentel Jr., was appointed a Commissioner of the Commission on Human Rights (CHR) in 2015. 

On the national level, Pimentel ended up at the 20th spot with 6,394,347 votes (16.46%). Acosta ranked 21st, earning 5,921,111 national votes (15.52%).

Rounding out the senatorial slate in CDO were the following:

  • Jose Ejercito “Jinggoy” Estrada Jr. (7.37%)
  • Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. (6.45%)
  • Teofisto “TG” Guingona III (5.29%)
  • Miriam Defensor-Santiago (4.90%)
  • Juan Ponce Enrile (4.70%)
  • Franklin Drilon (4.39%)
  • Pilar Juliana “Pia” Cayetano (4.13%)
  • Sergio “Serge” Osmeña III (4.07%)
  • Ralph Recto (3.92%)
  • Manuel “Lito” Lapid (3.92%).

This 2016, how will the local poll results translate to the national level? Will the survey results translate to victory in the city? (READ: Who will sit on the throne of Cagayan de Oro City?

This year’s election has no shortage of Mindanaons. But will Kagay-anons rally behind them on Monday? – 

Lyle Justin Egay is an International Studies alumnus of Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan. He likes to spend time volunteering and is an aspiring college professor.

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.