Rappler to conduct workshop for citizen journos


This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Rappler election volunteers will gather on April 29-30 at the Richmonde Hotel, Ortigas for an exclusive journalism workshop

MANILA, Philippines – Rappler election volunteers from different parts of the country will gather on April 29-30 at the Richmonde Hotel, Ortigas for an exclusive journalism workshop under Rappler’s “Ambassador Program.”

Twenty ambassadors were selected to attend the two-day training, which will include talks on the basics of journalism, how to cover the elections, effective use of social media, and video production.

The citizen journalists, who volunteered to engage in monitoring of, and reporting during, the midterm polls, were chosen based on a review of their submitted profiles. Past volunteer work and published content for MovePH, Rappler’s citizen journalism arm, were also reviewed.

The training is part of Rappler’s efforts to include civil society in the duties of the media. This is even more crucial especially in the coming elections. (Read: Beyond the ballot: Be a Rappler mover!)

Rappler speakers who will preside over the workshop sessions are Citizen Journalism director Chay Hofileña, #PHvote editor Miriam Grace Go, Social Media head Michael Josh Villanueva, and Production head Lilibeth Frondoso.

The 20 participants were favored over close to 200 individuals who signed up as Rappler movers (citizen journalists). Professors, law students, bloggers, student leaders, and young professionals were among those chosen. 

In alphabetical order, the following are the names of the 20 ambassadors:

  1. Ulderico Alviola – Los Baños, Laguna
  2. Cheska Arenas – Lingayen, Pangasinan
  3. Paula Beatriz Azurin – Bacolod City
  4. Khatrina Bonagua – Marikina City
  5. Bonn Troy Ma. Boñola – Calbayog City, Samar
  6. Eric Ray Burgonio – Sta Rosa, Laguna
  7. Mark Lester Chico – Los Baños, Laguna
  8. Jed Asaph Cortes – Biliran, Samar
  9. Jemm De Leon – Zamboanga City
  10. Anthony Esguerra – Nueva Ecija
  11. Gabrielle Espinosa – Tagbilaran, Bohol
  12. Ruben Espiritu – Los Baños, Laguna
  13. Giano Libot – Cagayan De Oro
  14. Raphael Martin Magno – Naga City
  15. Therene Quijano – Dumaguete City
  16. Faye Sales – Laoag City, Ilocos Norte
  17. Josa Marie Salvador – Batangas City
  18. Justine Siscas – Las Piñas City
  19. Renante Tomas – Cebu City
  20. Tricia Villaluz – Imus, Cavite

Most of these ambassadors have attended the MovePH chat series, helped MovePH organize events, and reported for Rappler on local issues.

Official event partners for the Rappler Ambassador Program include Richmonde Hotel and 2Go Travel. – Rappler.com

Follow MovePH on Twitter: @moveph

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!