Dry run of ‘no window hours’ starts October 12

Dry run of ‘no window hours’ starts October 12
Violators of the new policy will be flagged down but won't be issued tickets during the dry run from October 12 to 14. Strict implementation begins October 17.

MANILA, Philippines – Starting Wednesday, October 12, a dry run of the “no window hours” traffic scheme will be held along major roads and selected cities in Metro Manila.

The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) announced that the number coding scheme will be in effect from 7 am to 7 pm along EDSA, C-5, Roxas Boulevard, Alabang-Zapote Road, and in the cities of Mandaluyong, Makati, and Las Piñas.

This means that vehicles covered by the number coding scheme won’t be able to traverse these roads during the 12-hour period.

The dry run will be held from Wednesday until Friday, October 14, ahead of the strict implementation on Monday, October 17.

During the 3-day dry run period, motorists who violate the new policy will be flagged down, but will not be issued citation tickets.

Earlier, the transportation department announced the suspension of the number coding scheme’s “window hours” for private vehicles in a bid to ease traffic.

Previously, vehicles covered by the coding scheme may still travel between “window hours” of 10 am to 3 pm.

The new policy suspends the “window hours” until January 31, 2017. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.