PH collegiate sports

Duterte grants conditional pardon to 10 prisoners
Duterte grants conditional pardon to 10 prisoners

Darren Langit

(UPDATED) The President grants 'conditional pardon' to 10 prisoners, according to documents released by Malacañang

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – President Rodrigo Duterte on Thursday, July 6, pardoned 10 prisoners detained at the New Bilibid Prison.

Malacañang released the documents granting “conditional pardon” to the inmates on Friday, July 7. Duterte signed the documents on June 28.

The Karapatan Alliance for the Advancement of People’s Rights  earlied announced the move in a Facebook post where they said the inmates granted pardon are political prisoners. The Presidential Communications Operations Office confirmed to Palace reporters that they are political prisoners.

Pardon documents from Malacañang show that most of the inmates were charged with murder, theft, or kidnap for ransom with murder. Only one inmate was charged with rebellion.

Malacañang’s list of the pardoned prisoners also differs from Karapatan’s list.

The Palace lists Barigueco Calara as among the inmates granted pardon, a name not on Kaparatan’s list which instead includes a Josue Ungsod.

Here are the names in Malacañang’s list:

  • Emiterio Antalan
  • Ricardo Solangon
  • Joel Ramada
  • Apolonio Barado
  • Jose Navarro
  • Generoso Rolida
  • Arnulfo Boates
  • Manolito Matricio
  • Barigueco Calara
  • Sonny Marbella 

The prisoners are released on certain conditions, including that they report to their chief parole and probation officer at least once a month, allow visits from the Philippine National Police Provincial Director of their area of residence, and that they not change their residence during the period of parole without obtaining consent from authorities.

– Pia Ranada/

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.