Best practices of 10 LGUs recognized at 2017 Galing Pook Awards

Jee Y. Geronimo
Six of the awardees come from Luzon, one from Visayas, and 3 from Mindanao

BEST PRACTICES. Valenzuela City Mayor Rex Gatchalian receives the 2017 Galing Pook Award for the city's Disiplina Village. Screenshot from Rappler

MANILA, Philippines – Ten local government units (LGUs) in the country were recognized for their innovative practices in local governance on Thursday, October 12.

Before announcing the 10 winners of the 2017 Galing Pook Awards, former Marikina City mayor and Galing Pook Foundation chairperson Lourdes Fernando congratulated all 18 LGUs that made it as finalists to the prestigious awards.

“You are already winners…the best among the rest. We see that all of you have already graduated to that level of excellence,” Fernando said.

Majority or 6 of the by the Galing Pook Foundation awardees came from Luzon, one from Visayas, and 3 from Mindanao:


  • Angono, Rizal – Participatory and Systemic Governance for Socio-economic Development
  • Pasig City – “Bayanihan sa Daan” Sustainable Transport Program
  • San Felipe, Zambales – Monthly Search for Galing Barangay and Galing Purok
  • San Luis, Aurora – Luntiang Pamayanan ng San Luis
  • San Nicolas, Ilocos Norte – Catching Rain
  • Valenzuela City – Disiplina Village


  • Palompon, Leyte – Integrated Community-Based Eco-Tourism and Coastal Resource Management


  • Cagayan de Oro City – Rising Up from the Mud
  • Davao del Norte – Community-Based Road Maintenance Contracting
  • General Santos City – Lingap sa Kabataang Ayaw sa Droga (LIKAY DROGA)

The rest of the finalists are:

  • Iloilo Province – TEENiran Multi-Purpose Teen Center
  • Lamitan City, Basilan – Reaching Out Serving Everyone Caravan
  • Naga City – Mainstreaming Migration and Development; Building Socially Inclusive Economic Enterprises 
  • Panglao, Bohol – Reforms in Education Achieved through Community Help (REACH) Program
  • Pasig City – Tagamasid ng Pasig
  • Pilar, Bohol – Productivity Improvement through Landcare and Agricultural Resource Development and Management (PILAR DAM) Program
  • San Joaquin, Iloilo – Coastal Resource Management Program with Special Focus on Marine Protected Areas
  • Tagum City, Davao del Norte – Balik Sigla and Tagumpay Gulayan Programs for a Healthy Community
  • Vigan City – Eskwela De Los Mataderos

All finalists received plaques from the foundation, while each winning LGU received a P100,000-check and a marker of Galing Pook.

Senator Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara, chair of the Senate committee on local government, delivered the keynote speech for Thursday’s awarding ceremony.

He congratulated the 18 LGUs and lauded the Galing Pook Awards for having no limitations in recognizing local governments, regardless if the finalist is just a barangay or a small municipality.

Launched in 1993, the annual Galing Pook Awards has already recognized hundreds of LGU programs that serve as models of good governance for other communities to adopt. These programs serve as examples of how to provide innovative solutions to common problems.

“These awardees become very important advocates in inspiring other local governments to introduce innovative practices and provide a fertile environment for the replication of successful reforms,” the foundation said in its website.

Winning programs were evaluated based on “positive results and impact, promotion of people’s participation and empowerment, innovation, transferability and sustainability, and efficiency of program service delivery.” –

Jee Y. Geronimo

Jee is part of Rappler's Central Desk, handling most of the world, science, and environment stories on the site. She enjoys listening to podcasts and K-pop, watching Asian dramas, and running long distances. She hopes to visit Israel someday to retrace the steps of her Savior.