Villar, Cusi still richest Cabinet members in 2018

Michael Bueza
Villar, Cusi still richest Cabinet members in 2018
Meanwhile, at least 4 Cabinet secretaries have net worths below P10 million, based on available Statements of Assets, Liabilities and Net Worth in 2018

MANILA, Philippines – Public Works and Highways Secretary Mark Villar and Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi remained the only billionaires and the richest members of the Cabinet in 2018, based on their Statements of Assets, Liabilities, and Net Worth (SALNs).

Villar declared a net worth of P1,408,281,794.00 in 2018. This is slightly higher than his net worth in 2017, when he declared P1,407,459,436.00, for an increase of P822,358.00.

Cusi reported P1,385,545,339.00 in net worth in 2018, up by P29.9 million from his 2017 net worth of P1,355,632,637.00.

There were only 24 SALNs released by the Malacañang Records Office (MRO) to Rappler on Monday, June 10. The SALNs of some officials were “not among the records available on file nor in the possession of this office,” said the MRO in a letter to Rappler dated May 30.

The following were the declared net worths of Cabinet and Cabinet-level secretaries, based on the SALNs made available to Rappler. Also included are the percentage increase or decrease from their 2017 SALNs:

Department, Agency, or Position Secretary or Head of Office 2018 Net Worth Versus 2017
DPWH Mark Villar P1,408,281,794.00 up 0.06%
DOE Alfonso Cusi P1,385,545,339.00 up 2.21%
DOF Carlos Dominguez III P366,781,349.00 up 8.48%
DOTr Arthur Tugade P306,351,846.00 up 1.03%
PCOO Martin Andanar P160,401,616.19 up 1.00%
DOH Francisco Duque III P120,076,719.00 down 0.05%
NEDA Ernesto Pernia P114,097,741.10 up 4.68%
DFA Teodoro Locsin Jr P106,522,643.66
Presidential Spokesperson and Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Salvador Panelo P72,899,976.43 up 1.96%
TESDA Isidro Lapeña P70,742,980.00
Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea P54,654,886.07 up 5.50%
DTI Ramon Lopez P48,800,000.00 down 2.01%
DOT Bernadette Romulo Puyat P45,288,416.00
DA Emmanuel Piñol P28,533,195.57 up 5.80%
National Security Council Hermogenes Esperon Jr P25,745,000.00 up 1.98%
OPAPP Carlito Galvez Jr P23,383,645.00
DSWD Rolando Bautista P20,008,613.70
DOLE Silvestre Bello III P16,380,000.00 up 4.00%
Cabinet Secretary Karlo Alexei Nograles P12,097,067.89 up 5.26%*
PLLO Adelino Sitoy P10,039,687.31 up 3.90%
DepEd Leonor Briones P9,610,469.38 up 44.13%
DND Delfin Lorenzana P8,757,790.00 up 14.37%
DICT Eliseo Rio Jr (OIC) P7,945,688.00 up 4.11%
DOST Fortunato de la Peña P5,031,000.00 down 33.46%

* Compared to Nograles’ net worth in his 2017 SALN when he was still Davao City 1st District representative

Among these officials, 4 Cabinet secretaries have net worths below P10 million. The lowest net worth so far was that of Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato de la Peña, with P5,031,000.00. 

De La Peña also had the biggest percentage decrease in net worth, with a 33% drop (amounting to P2.53 million) from his P7,561,000.00 net worth in 2017. 

On the other hand, Education Secretary Leonor Briones posted the biggest percentage increase from 2017. She declared P6,668,136.00 in net worth in 2017, then it increased to P9,610,469.38 in 2018, going up by P2.9 million, or a 44% increase. Despite this, Briones is still among the secretaries with the lowest net worth.

As of this posting, Rappler has yet to have the 2017 SALNs – for comparison purposes – of 5 Cabinet officials who held other civilian and military posts before they became Cabinet members:

  • Social Welfare and Development Secretary Rolando Bautista – former commanding general of the Philippine Army
  • Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Carlito Galvez Jr – former chief of staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines
  • Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) Director-General Isidro Lapeña – former head of the Bureau of Customs
  • Foreign Secretary Teodoro Locsin Jr – former permanent representative of the Philippines to the United Nations
  • Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo Puyat – former tourism undersecretary

Rappler also requested the 2018 SALNs of the following, but they were not yet among the ones released by the MRO on Monday: 

  • Agrarian Reform Secretary John Castriciones
  • Budget and Management Secretary Benjamin Diokno
  • Environment and Natural Resources Secretary Roy Cimatu
  • Interior and Local Government Secretary Eduardo Año
  • Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra
  • Presidential Management Staff head Jesus Melchor Quitain
  • Commission on Higher Education Chairperson Prospero de Vera III
  • Solicitor General Jose Calida
  • Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Chairman Danilo Lim
  • National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC) Lead Convenor Noel Felongco
  • Presidential Assistant for the Visayas Michael Dino
  • Commission on Filipinos Overseas (CFO) Chairperson Francisco Acosta
  • National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) Secretary Saidamen Pangarungan

Rappler also requested the SALNs of the following former Cabinet officials who left their posts in 2018 for various reasons. They were required to file exit SALNs upon leaving office:


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Michael Bueza

Michael is a data curator under Rappler's Tech Team. He works on data about elections, governance, and the budget. He also follows the Philippine pro wrestling scene and the WWE. Michael is also part of the Laffler Talk podcast trio.