LIST: Chokepoint areas, affected roads during SEA Games 2019

Loreben Tuquero
LIST: Chokepoint areas, affected roads during SEA Games 2019
Commuters and motorists can expect heavier traffic as early as November 14

MANILA, Philippines – The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) identified a number of chokepoint and roads which will be affected by the Southeast Asian (SEA) Games from November 30 to December 11.

Commuters and motorists can expect heavy traffic along these roads during the event.



  • Roxas Boulevard
  • Taft Avenue
  • Ayala Avenue
  • Buendia Avenue
  • Shaw Boulevard
  • Megamall 
  • Santolan
  • SM North
  • Muñoz 
  • Balintawak


  • Balintawak
  • Muñoz
  • SM North
  • Cubao
  • Santolan
  • Ortigas
  • Shaw Boulevard
  • Boni Serrano
  • Buendia corner Macapagal
  • Ayala Magallanes
  • Roxas Boulevard

Quezon City

  • Mindanao Avenue-North Avenue to North Luzon Expressway


  • Roxas Boulevard corner Buendia Avenue
  • Roxas Boulevard corner Pablo Ocambo Street
  • Roxas Boulevard P. Burgos Street
  • Taft Avenue corner Pablo Ocampo Street
  • Adriatico Street Rizal Avenue Coliseum area
  • Quirino Avenue corner Adriatico Strret

Pasig City

  • Shaw Boulevard corner Pioneer

San Juan

  • N. Domingo Street to FilOil 

Taguig City

  • Lawton Avenue corner Bayani Road

Major road

  • South Luzon Expressway Northbound

Traffic congestion can also be anticipated in Clark, Subic, and Southern Luzon, where other SEA Games clusters are located.

The MMDA earlier told commuters and motorists to expect delays as early as the opening ceremony simulation, set to take place on Thursday, November 14. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Loreben Tuquero

Loreben Tuquero is a researcher-writer for Rappler. Before transferring to Rappler's Research team, she covered transportation, Quezon City, and the Department of the Interior and Local Government as a reporter. She graduated with a communication degree from the Ateneo de Manila University.