No bail for 10 Aegis Juris fratmen in Atio Castillo hazing case

Rambo Talabong
The judge finds 'evidence of guilt of each of the accused to be strong'

BAIL DENIED. Members of the Aegis Juris Fraternity are escorted by jail guards as they attend their arraignment in connection to the Atio Castillo hazing charges at the Manila RTC Branch 20 at the Manila City Hall on July 24, 2018. Photo by Ben Nabong

MANILA, Philippines – The 10 Aegis Juris fraternity members accused in the hazing death of University of Santo Tomas (UST) law school freshman Horacio “Atio” Castillo III were denied bail in an order shared with reporters on Friday, January 3.

In a 56-page order dated December 10, 2019, Manila Regional Trial Court Branch 20 Presiding Judge Marivic Balisi Umali said that she found “evidence of guilt of each of the accused [to be] strong.”

Who are they? The 10 fraternity members are Arvin Balag, Mhin Wei Chan, Axel Munro Hipe, Oliver John Audrey Onofre, Joshua Joriel Macabali, Ralph Trangia, Robin Ramos, Jose Miguel Salamat, Danielle Hans Matthew, and Marcelino Bagtang.

Each of them were found to have taken up roles in killing and concealing the death of Castillo, who was beaten black and blue and left unconscious on a pavement in Manila on September 17, 2017. He was declared dead on arrival at the hospital.

What now? The 10 fratmen will continue to be detained at the Manila City Jail as they continue with the trial.

Two years on, Castillo’s family and friends demand justice for his killing. They are also calling for action against possible conspirators among the fraternity’s alumni. –

Rambo Talabong

Rambo Talabong covers the House of Representatives and local governments for Rappler. Prior to this, he covered security and crime. He was named Jaime V. Ongpin Fellow in 2019 for his reporting on President Rodrigo Duterte’s war on drugs. In 2021, he was selected as a journalism fellow by the Fellowships at Auschwitz for the Study of Professional Ethics.