How rich are the President’s men and women?
Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert del Rosario is still the wealthiest Cabinet member.

WHO’S RICHEST? Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert del Rosario is still the wealthiest Cabinet member. File photo by Malacañang Photo Bureau

MANILA, Philippines – They are the President’s men and women. How much are the Aquino Cabinet members worth?

Of all of President Benigno Aquino III’s alter egos, Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Chairman Francis Tolentino posted the biggest gain in his net worth.

Based on his 2012 Statement of Assets, Liabilities and Net Worth (SALN), Tolentino’s net worth went up from P22.54 million in 2011 to P43.77 million in 2012.

Presidential Peace Adviser Teresita “Ging” Deles’ net worth dropped by P7.09 million from P21.83 million in 2011.

Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert del Rosario is still the richest Cabinet secretary, with his net worth jumping to P705.48 million from P657.83 million in 2011.

The former Philippine Ambassador to the US was a director of PLDT and was part of its Board of Directors. Del Rosario was also a director of several companies engaged in infrastructure, property development, media, public utility and mining businesses, according to

Another long-time businessman, Finance chief Cesar Purisima is the second richest Cabinet secretary. His net worth went up from P261.58 million in 2011 to P270.71 million in 2012.

Tourism Secretary Ramon Jimenez, a former advertising executive, followed with a net worth of P249.98 million, up from P238.23 million in 2011.

Interior Secretary Manuel “Mar” Roxas II is next with a net worth of P203.35 million, up from P183.10 million.

Education Secretary Armin Luistro remains the poorest Cabinet member. His net worth went down from P739,000 in 2011 to P550,651 in 2012.

Here is the net worth of the other Cabinet members for 2012:

  • Trade and Industry Secretary Gregory Domingo – P150.77 million 
  • Transportation and Communications Secretary Joseph Emilio “Jun” Abaya – P104.72 million
  • Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa – P120.27 million
  • Cabinet Secretary Jose Rene Almendras – P115.40 million
  • Energy Secretary Jericho Petilla – P111.29 million
  • Agriculture Secretary Proceso Alcala – P93.97 million
  • Public Works and Highways Secretary Rogelio Singson – P83.85 million
  • Health Secretary Enrique Ona – P80.23 million
  • Science and Technology Secretary Mario Montejo – P63.85 million
  • Commission on Higher Education Chairperson Patricia Licuanan – P49.26 million
  • Budget Secretary Florencio Abad – P38.23 million
  • Environment and Natural Resources Secretary Ramon Paje – P30.88 million
  • National Economic Development Authority Director-General Arsenio Baliscan – P25.76 million
  • Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin – P23.87 million
  • National Anti-Poverty Commission chief Joel Rocamora – P22.37 million
  • Technical Education and Skills Development Authority head Joel Villanueva – P22.47 million
  • Presidential Management Staff head Julia Abad – P20.37 million
  • Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr – P17.56 million
  • National Security Adviser Cesar Garcia – P16.1 million
  • Presidential Communications Operations Office Secretary Herminio Coloma Jr – P15.84 million
  • Agrarian Reform Secretary Virgilio delos Reyes – P14.06 million
  • Mindanao Development Authority Chairperson Luwalhati Antonino – 14.59 million
  • Presidential Spokesperson Edwin Lacierda – P13.76 million
  • Presidential Legislative Liaison Office Secretary Manuel Mamba – P10.86 million
  • National Commission on Muslim Filipinos Secretary Mehol Sadain – P11.52 million
  • Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office Secretary Ramon Carandang – P7.55 million
  • Presidential Political Adviser Ronald Llamas – P5.46 million
  • Justice Secretary Leila de Lima – P4.23 million
  • Social Welfare and Development Secretary Corazon Soliman – P3.24 million
  • Labor Secretary Rosalinda Baldoz – P2.98 million –




Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.