Chiz poorest senator, Villar still richest
Sen Francis Escudero replaces Sen Antonio Trillanes IV as the poorest senator, with his net worth down by about P5 million

POOREST SENATOR. Sen Francis Escudero replaces Sen Antonio Trillanes IV as the poorest senator, based on SALNs filed for the year 2012. File photo from Escudero's Facebook page

MANILA, Philippines – Newly re-elected Sen Francis Escudero is now the poorest senator, replacing Sen Antonio Trillanes IV.

Based on the Statements of Assets Liabilities and Net Worth (SALN) released by the Senate Secretary, Escudero reported the lowest net worth among 23 senators for 2012: P4.02 million.

His net worth went down by about P5 million from P9.86 million in 2011.

Trillanes, who was the poorest senator in 2011 and 2010, had a net worth of P4.43 million in 2012. The figure was up from P3.89 million in 2011.

Businessman and property mogul Sen Manny Villar remains the richest senator, with a net worth of P1.45 billion in 2012. It was an increase from his 2011 net worth of P854 million.

Besides Escudero, Senators Teofisto “TG” Guingona III, Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III and Francis Pangilinan saw a decline in their net worth for 2012.

Sen Joker Arroyo’s net worth was unchanged at P11.05 million.

Here is the complete list of the senators’ net worth for 2012:

  1. Sen Manuel “Manny” Villar Jr – P1.45 billion (up from P854 million in 2011)
  2. Sen Ralph Recto – P468.47 million (up from P426.028 million in 2011)
  3. Sen Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr – P437.24 million (up from P364.39 million in 2011)
  4. Sen Jinggoy Estrada – P193.58 million (up from P166.727 million in 2011)
  5. Sen Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr – P169.14 million (up from P147.217 million in 2011)
  6. Sen Edgardo Angara – P159.09 million (up from P78.273 million in 2011
  7. Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile – P118.63 million (up from P117,762 million in 2011)
  8. Sen Sergio “Serge” Osmeña III – P111.78 million (up from 105.47 million in 2011)
  9. Sen Miriam Defensor Santiago – P77.69 million (up from P69.694 million in 2011)
  10. Sen Pia Cayetano – P72.96 million (up from P72,058 million in 2011)
  11. Senate Majority Leader Vicente “Tito” Sotto III – P62.22 million (up from P58.92 million in 2011)
  12. Sen Franklin Drilon – P51.75 million (up from P44.937 million in 2011)
  13. Sen Loren Legarda – P45.96 million (up from P45.68 million in 2011)
  14. Sen Teofisto “TG” Guingona III – P43.50 million (down from P82.520 million in 2011)
  15. Sen Panfilo Lacson – P28.86 million (up from P22.637 million in 2011)
  16. Sen Manuel “Lito” Lapid – P26 million (up from P23 million in 2011)
  17. Senate Minority Leader Alan Peter Cayetano – P23.31 million (up from P23.210 million in 2011)
  18. Sen Gregorio Honasan II – P21.09 million (up from P20.837 million in 2011)
  19. Sen Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III – P16.99 million (down from P17.078 million in 2011)
  20. Sen Francis Pangilinan – P14.38 million (down from P14.564 million in 2011)
  21. Sen Joker Arroyo – P11.05 million (same as 2011)
  22. Sen Antonio Trillanes IV – P4.43 million (up from P3.897 million in 2011)
  23. Sen Francis Escudero – P4.02 million (down from P9.867 million in 2011) 

The Constitution requires all public officials and employees to file SALNs within 30 days after assumption of office, on or before April 30 of every year, and within 30 days after separation from the service.

During the campaign, Legarda became controversial for supposedly failing to properly declare a New York condominium in her SALN. She decried the charge as black propaganda.

The SALN also became a central issue in the impeachment trial of former Chief Justice Renato Corona, who was dismissed for failing to disclose P180 million in dollar and peso bank accounts. –


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.