Commission on Audit

DOST chief is highest paid in Duterte Cabinet

DOST chief is highest paid in Duterte Cabinet

DOST Secretary Fortunato dela Peña at the Senate hearing on September 24, 2019, on the proposed 2020 budget of the Department of Science and Technology and its attached agencies.

Photo by Angie de Silva/Rappler

Health Secretary Francisco Duque III and Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi are 2nd and 3rd, respectively, after DOST Secretary Fortunato dela Peña

Who’s the highest paid in the Duterte Cabinet?

According to the Commission on Audit 2019 Report on Salaries and Allowances (ROSA) of government officials, it’s Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato dela Peña with his P5.003 million total earnings.

He was highest paid in 2017 but fell behind Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi in 2018. He was back on the top spot in 2019. From P4.138 million in 2018, his total pay increased by P865,000 in 2019. Total earnings came from his basic salary, allowances, bonuses, and extraordinary and miscellaneous expenses (EME) released by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST).

In addition, Dela Peña also sat in governing boards of the Philippine Science High School System (PSHSS), the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (Tesda), and the National Dairy Authority (NDA) without added compensation.

After Dela Peña, Health Secretary Francisco Duque III came in second highest paid in the Cabinet with his P4.882 million, higher than his 2018 pay of P3.715 million.

Cusi, who was highest paid in 2018, came in 3rd for 2019 with his P4.862 million – P4.481 million as energy secretary, and an additional P234,300 as vice chair of the board of directors of the Transmission Corporation and P146,800 as board chair of the National Electrification Administration.

Here’s the rest of the list:

Top 20 Cabinet earners
  1. Fortunato dela Peña – P5.0003 million
  2. Francisco Duque III – P4.882 million
  3. Alfonso Cusi – P4.862 million
  4. Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello III – P4.758 million
  5. Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra – P4.679 million
  6. Higher Education Secretary Julian Prospero De Vera III – P4.645 million
  7. Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III – 4.642 million
  8. Agrarian Reform Secretary John Castriciones – P4.641 million
  9. Public Works Secretary Mark Villar – P4.509 million
  10. Cabinet Secretary Karlo Alexei Nograles – P4.501 million
  11. Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez – P4.432 million
  12. Social Welfare Secretary Rolando Joselito Bautista – P4.43 million
  13. Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea – P4.416 million
  14. Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade – P4.392 million
  15. Chief Presidential Legal Counsel and former spokesman Salvador Panelo – P4.373 million
  16. Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat – P4.353 million
  17. Economic Planning Secretary Ernesto Pernia – P4.323 million
  18. Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO) Secretary Martin Andanar – P4.323 million
  19. Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin Jr. – P4.32 million
  20. Former Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel Piñol – P4.242 million