Duterte announces quarantine restrictions for areas outside 'NCR Plus'

Quirino province and Santiago City in Isabela, both in Cagayan Valley, will be under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) starting April 1, President Rodrigo Duterte announced on Monday, March 29.

Quirino's MECQ will last until April 15, with the task of determining a possible de-escalation of quarantine classification given to the Cagayan Valley regional pandemic task force. Santiago City's MECQ, meanwhile, will last until April 30.

Duterte was announcing the quarantine classifications for the country, excluding the area called "NCR Plus," for the month of April.

Meanwhile, areas that will be under general community quarantine or GCQ from April 1 to 30 are the following:

  • Cordillera Administrative Region
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Batangas
  • Tacloban City
  • Iligan City
  • Davao City
  • Lanao del Sur

The rest of the country will be under the most relaxed quarantine restriction, modified general community quarantine or MGCQ.

The government earlier announced Metro Manila and four adjacent provinces, Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna, and Cavite, would be under the strictest classification, enhanced community quarantine or ECQ, from March 29 to April 4, in a bid to stem a surge in COVID-19 cases. – Rappler.com

Pia Ranada

Pia Ranada covers the Office of the President and Bangsamoro regional issues for Rappler. While helping out with desk duties, she also watches the environment sector and the local government of Quezon City. For tips or story suggestions, you can reach her at pia.ranada@rappler.com.