Duterte gets nod to donate P11M to 'Nona' victims

DAVAO CITY, Philippines – The Davao City Council on Tuesday, December 22, approved a resolution granting Mayor Rodrigo Duterte the legislative authority to disburse P11 million and donate the amount to the provinces of Sorsogon and Oriental Mindoro which were hit by Typhoon Nona (Melor).

In a special session called by Duterte, City Council Finance Ways and Means Committee chairman Danilo Dayanghirang read Duterte's letter stating, among others, the need to provide assistance to the calamity-stricken provinces as Christmas is coming and people need support.

"There is no greater service to the country than serving our fellowmen suffering the effects of Typhoon Nona, who at this time of Christmas is experiencing pain of losing their houses and livelihood," Dayanghirang quoted Duterte as saying.

In a unanimously approved resolution, the Davao City Council granted Duterte the legislative authority to disburse P11 million from the unspent quick-response fund, which is taken from the 5% disaster risk reduction and management fund of the city for calendar year 2015.

Residents from the municipalities of Barcelona, Bulan, Bulusan, Casiguran, Castilla, Donsol, Gubat, Irosin, Uban, Magallanes, Matnog, Pilar, Getoguias, Sta Magdalena, and Sorsogon City from Sorsogon province; and Baco, Calapan, Gloria, Mauian, Pinamalayan, Pola, and Victoria in Oriental Mindoro will benefit from the support.

Dayanghirang said each town will receive P500,000 but this will be subject to existing government auditing and accounting procedures, as well as guidelines from the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) and the Commission on Audit (COA).

Duterte or any representative from the city government of Davao will hand-carry the assistance as soon as the fund is available.

The Davao City government has been extending support to fellow LGUs suffering from calamities or disasters. Rappler.com