Presidential aspirants: 22 and counting
Presidential aspirants: 22 and counting
(2nd UPDATE) If Filipinos would have to pick a president based on today's list, the choices include a vice president, a former Tesda director general, a twice-disqualified presidential candidate, a tricycle driver, and a pastor


MANILA, Philippines (2nd UPDATE) – The first day of the filing of certificates of candidacy (COC) ended at 5 pm Monday, October 12, with at least 22 candidates filing COCs for a presidential run in May 2016.

The initial list of presidential aspirants as of 5 pm Monday, October 12, includes Vice President Jejomar Binay, former Tesda director general Augusto Syjuco Jr, twice-disqualified presidential candidate Ely Pamatong, and a slew of other independent candidates, including a tricycle driver and a pastor.

Former chair of the Presidential Commission on Good Government Camilo Sabio is also on the list, as well as Sel Hope Kang, the first female presidential aspirant for the 2016 race.

After filing his COC, Pamatong, who was disqualified in the 2004 and 2010 presidential elections, burned a Chinese flag, vowing to defend the Philippines’ disputed territories from China. 

Rizalito David, the petitioner in the disqualification case against Senator Grace Poe, also filed his COC on Monday afternoon, just before the first day of filing ended. 

The Comelec will decide on whether or not to accept these applications.

See the list here, as of 5 pm Monday:

  • David Almorong – independent
  • Gerald Arcega – independent
  • Jejomar Binay – United Nationalist Alliance
  • Leonardo Bula – independent
  • Ramon Concepcion – independent
  • Rizalito David – Ang Kapatiran
  • Ephraim Defiño – independent
  • Arsenio Dimaya – independent
  • Ferdinan Fortes – independent
  • Alejandro Ignacio – independent
  • Adolfo Inductivo – independent
  • Sel Hope Kang – independent
  • Danilo Lihaylihay – independent
  • Freddiesher Llamas – independent
  • Ralph Masloff – independent
  • Eric Negapatan – independent
  • Elly Pamatong – independent
  • Ferdinand Jose Pijao – independent
  • Arturo Reyes – independent
  • Esmeraldo Reyes – independent
  • Camilo Sabio – independent
  • Augusto Syjuco Jr – independent

Ely Pamatong burns a Chinese flag in front of the Comelec office in Intramuros on Monday, October 12, during the first day of filing of certificates of candidacy for the 2016 elections. Photo by Joel Liporada/Rappler

More candidates are expected to crop up in the coming days, including Poe – the presidential poll front runner – and Liberal Party standard-bearer Mar Roxas.

From October 12 to 16, the Commission on Elections central office will accept the filings of individuals who wish to run for national positions, including president and vice president.

At least 16 senatorial hopefuls have already filed their COCs, including former senator and former Yolanda rehabilitation chief Panfilo Lacson and Bayan Muna Representative Neri Colmenares.

One of the candidates, Daniel Magtira, stood out after he wrote in his COC that he is married to Kris Aquino.

Meanwhile, only 3 vice presidential candidates have filed their COCs so far: Binay’s running mate Gregorio Honasan II, Albert Alba of Ang Kapatiran, and independent candidate Myrna Mamong. – with reports from Jee Geronimo and Michael Bueza/

Check out who are running for national and local positions: 
LIST: Aspirants for 2016 elections

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.