LIST: Who’s running for mayor, vice mayor in Metro Manila for 2019?

Michael Bueza

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

LIST: Who’s running for mayor, vice mayor in Metro Manila for 2019?
(UPDATED) Here is a list of tandems and other aspirants expected to face off in the 2019 elections in the National Capital Region

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – Local races in Metro Manila for the May 2019 elections have taken shape following the filing of certificates of candidacy at city and municipal Commission on Elections (Comelec) offices from October 11 to 17, 2018.

Here is a list of aspirants who are expected to face off in the 2019 polls in the National Capital Region.

This list is based on the tentative list of candidates published by Comelec on its website in November. 

This is not yet the final list of candidates appearing on the ballot in May 2019, as local Comelec offices will screen their candidacies first and await any substitution or withdrawal until November 29, according to their calendar of activities for the 2019 polls

The mayor-vice mayor tandems are listed first, followed by other notable persons without a running mate, then independent aspirants per position.


For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Joseph Estrada (PMP) Ex-congressman Amado Bagatsing (Kabaka)
Ex-vice mayor Francisco “Isko Moreno” Domagoso (Asenso Manileño) Vice Mayor Maria Sheilah Lacuna Pangan (Asenso Manileño)
Ex-mayor Alfredo Lim (PDP-Laban)
Ex-police general Elmer Jamias (Independent)
Onofre Abad (Independent)
Francisco Pizarra (Independent)
Benjamin Rivera (Independent)
Cecilia Salvador (Independent)
Francis Villegas (PDDS-DPP)
Virgilio Añonuevo (Independent)
Butch Cosme (Independent)
Severino Reyes (Independent)
Amando Magsino Tetangco (Independent)


Caloocan City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Oscar Malapitan (NP) Vice Mayor Macario Asistio III (NPC)
Rufino Bayon-on (Independent)
Ronnie Malunes (Labor Party Philippines)
Edgardo Sevilla (Independent)
Maximo Torrelino (Independent)
Emil Trinidad (Independent)


Las Piñas City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Imelda Aguilar (NPC) April Aguilar Nery (NPC)
Michael Bondoy (NP)
Luis Casimiro (Independent)
Benjamin Gonzales (Independent)
Conrado Miranda (Independent)
Antonio Abellar Jr (Independent)


Makati City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Mar-len Abigail Binay (UNA) Vice Mayor Monique Yazmin Lagdameo (UNA)
Ex-mayor Jejomar Erwin Binay Jr (Una ang Makati) 1st District congressman Monsour del Rosario (PDP-Laban)
Wilfredo Talag (PDP-Laban) Roberto Lantin (PDP-Laban)
Ricardo Yabut (Bigkis Pinoy)
Carmelle Ainne Alanzalon (Independent)
Renato Bondal (Independent)
Virgilio Batalla (Independent)
Rodolfo Biolena (Independent)


Malabon City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Antolin Oreta III (LP) Councilor Bernard dela Cruz (NUP)
Vice Mayor Jeannie Sandoval (NP) Councilor Maricar Torres (NP)


Mandaluyong City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Carmelita Abalos (PDP-Laban) Vice Mayor Antonio Suva Jr (PDP-Laban)
Virgilio Caldino (Aksyon Demokratiko) Emelito Custodio (Aksyon Demokratiko)
Arturo Cezar (Partido Federal ng Pilipinas) Julio de Quinto (Partido Federal ng Pilipinas)
Florencio Solomon (Independent)
Gina Estrada (Independent)


Marikina City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Marcelino Teodoro (PDP-Laban) Ex-vice mayor Marion Andres (NPC)
Lorderito Nebres (PDP-Laban) Richard James Estanislao (PDP-Laban)
Marijoy Demiar Villoso (Independent) Eva Aguirre Paz (Independent)
Arnolfo Almocera (PDDS)


Muntinlupa City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Jaime Fresnedi (LP) Ex-vice mayor Artemio Simundac (PDP-Laban)
Ex-immigration deputy commissioner Marc Red Mariñas (NUP) Vice Mayor Celso Dioko (NUP)
Eldeliza Aguilar Nava (Workers and Peasants Party) Timmy Richard Gabriel (Workers and Peasants Party)
Oscar Marmeto (Independent)
Rodolfo Victa (PDDS)
Rafael Burgos (Independent)


Navotas City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Congressman Tobias Reynald Tiangco (Partido Navoteño) Vice Mayor Clint Nicolas Geronimo (Partido Navoteño)
Councilor Dan Israel Ang (Partido Federal ng Pilipinas) Raymond Emil Cruz (Aksyon Demokratiko)


Parañaque City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Edwin Olivarez (PDP-Laban) Vice Mayor Jose Enrico Golez (NPC)
Ex-mayor Florencio Bernabe Jr (Lakas CMD) Ex-barangay captain Jeremy Marquez (NP)
Maria Theresa Balgua Salceda (Independent)
Zandro Mate (Independent)


Pasay City 

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Congresswoman Imelda Calixto Rubiano (PDP-Laban) Vice Mayor Noel del Rosario (PDP-Laban)
Manila city prosecutor Edward Togonon (PDP-Laban) Lawyer Jose Allan Tebelin (PDP-Laban)
Cesar Joseph “Chet” Cuneta (NPC) Councilor Richard Advincula (NPC)
Cherry Christine Ching (PDDS) Armando Magbanua (PDDS)
John Wilfred Trinidad (Independent)


Pasig City 

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Robert Eusebio (NP) Vice Mayor Iyo Christian Bernardo (PDP-Laban)
Councilor Victor “Vico” Sotto (Aksyon Demokratiko)



For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Miguel Ponce III (PDP-Laban) Vice Mayor Gerald German (PDP-Laban)
Willie Buenaventura (NP) Carlo Santos (NP)


Quezon City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Vice Mayor Ma. Josefina Belmonte (SBP) Councilor Gian Carlo Jose Sotto (SBP)
1st District congressman Vincent Crisologo (PDP-Laban) Lawyer Joseph Peter Sison (PDP-Laban)
2nd District ex-congressman Ismael Mathay III (KDP) Councilor Roderick Paulate (KDP)
Henry Samonte (Labor Party Philippines) Rolando Jota (Labor Party Philippines)
Teodoro Rusios (PDDS) Cinderella Ladisla (PDDS)
Romeo Acebedo (Independent)
Esmeraldo Balosa (Independent)
Alexander Lague (PGRP)
Wilhelmina Orozco (Independent)
Regin Ree Reyes (NUP)
Andy Rosales (Independent)
Allan Bantilo (Independent)
Jomer Sotto (Independent)


San Juan City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Vice Mayor Janella Ejercito Estrada (PMP) Councilor Leonardo Celles (PMP)
Ex-vice mayor Francisco Javier Zamora (PDP-Laban) Councilor Jose Warren Villa (PDP-Laban)
Alton Glenn Angeles (Independent)


Taguig City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Taguig City district ex-congressman Lino Cayetano (NP) Vice Mayor Ricardo Cruz Jr (NP) 
Taguig-Pateros district congressman Arnel Cerafica (PDP-Laban) Ex-congressman Henry Dueñas Jr (PDP-Laban)
Sonny Boy Andrade (Independent) – 
Ex-councilor Baltazar Mariategue (Independent)


Valenzuela City

For Mayor For Vice Mayor
Mayor Rexlon Gatchalian (NPC) Vice Mayor Lorena Natividad Borja (NPC)
Antonio Go (Lakas CMD)
Bienvenido Español (Independent)

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!
Tie, Accessories, Accessory


Michael Bueza

Michael is a data curator under Rappler's Tech Team. He works on data about elections, governance, and the budget. He also follows the Philippine pro wrestling scene and the WWE. Michael is also part of the Laffler Talk podcast trio.