Sara Duterte’s Hugpong joins forces with Abra’s Asenso party

Frank Cimatu

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Sara Duterte’s Hugpong joins forces with Abra’s Asenso party

Asenso Abreno FB page

The presidential daughter strikes an alliance with the party of reelectionist Governor Joyce Bernos, whose challenger was earlier endorsed by the Mayor Rodrigo Roa Duterte-National Executive Coordinating Committee

BAGUIO, Philippines – The Dutertes again came out the winner, endorsing rival candidates in Abra. 

On Tuesday morning, November 20, presidential daughter and Davao Mayor Sara Duterte came to Abra to exchange symbolic keys to formalize the alliance of her party, Hugpong ng Pagbabago, with the Asenso party of incumbent Representative Joseph Sto Nino Bernos and Governor Maria Jocelyn Valera Bernos. 

Asenso has fielded candidates in 25 of 27 towns here.

Two months ago, officials of the Mayor Rodrigo Roa Duterte-National Executive Coordinating Committee held a convention in Tagudin, Ilocos Sur. The MRRD-NECC endorsed Dolores Mayor Roberto Victor Guzman Seares Jr to fight Valera Bernos in the gubernatorial race. 

On Tuesday, over 5,000 supporters of the homegrown Abra party attended the event.  

During the program, Sara was made an honorary Abrenian with the native name of “Dulimaman.”

HONORARY ABRENIAN. Vice Governor Ronald Balao-as and Governor Jocelyn Valera Bernos outfitting Sara with the traditional Tinggian 'tapis' on November 20, 2018. Looking on is Representative JB Bernos. Photo from the Asenso Abreno FB page

The Hugpong senatorial candidates who joined Sara in Bangued were former police chief Ronald dela Rosa, Maguindanao Representative Zajid Mangudadatu, former presidential spokesman Harry Roque, reelectionist Senator JV Ejercito, former presidential adviser Francis Tolentino, and Bacoor Mayor Lani Mercado Revilla, representing her detained husband former senator Bong Revilla Jr. 

Also around were elected officials from other provinces, including Jayvee Tyron Uy of Compostela Valley, Anthony del Rosario of Capiz, Nelson Dayanghirang of Davao Oriental, Claude Bautista, and Ryan Singson of nearby Ilocos Sur. 


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI