Pineda clan, allies dominate Pampanga polls

Jun A. Malig
Pineda clan, allies dominate Pampanga polls
Mother and son Pinedas switch places as Pampanga's top provincial leaders. Incumbent Pampanga Governor Lilia Pineda slides down to vice governor, while her son Dennis climbs up from vice governor to governor.

PAMPANGA, Philippines – Vice Governor Dennis Pineda is poised to be proclaimed as the next governor of this province, while his mother, outgoing Governor Lilia Pineda, is set to switch positions with him.

 As of 3:50 pm, Tuesday, May 14, the younger Pineda garnered 637,326 against his closest rival outgoing Bacolor town Mayor Jomar Hizon’s 223,114 votes.

The unopposed Governor Pineda has received 784,634 votes in vice gubernatorial race based on about 97% transmitted election returns.

Two other daughters of the governor also won in their respective polls. Outgoing Lubao town Mayor Mylyn Pineda-Cayabyab, topped the race for second district board member, while Esmeralda Pineda was uncontested for the town’s mayoralty post.  

All the 10 candidates for board members in the 4 districts of Pampanga, who are allies of the Pinedas, were unopposed.

The winning congressmen in 3 of the 4 districts were also allied with the Pinedas. These are  Juan Miguel “Mikey” Arroyo,  Aurelio Gonzales Jr and Juan Pablo Bondoc.

The lone casualty of Pineda’s Kambilan party, Joseller “Yeng” Guiao failed to defeat re-electionist Representative Carmelo “Jon” Lazatin II (PDP-Laban).

In the City of San Fernando, Pineda ally re-electionist Edwin Santiago of Kambilan party won against Lakas party’s Vilma Caluag by a margin of more than 20,000 votes.

In Mabalacat, this province’s other component city, Crisostomo Garbo got 52,517 votes against Christian Halili’s 34,694 votes. The Pinedas campaigned for Garbo.

The winning mayoralty candidates in the towns of Apalit, Arayat, Bacolor, Candaba, Guagua, Masantol, Mexico, Minalin, San Luis, Santa Ana, Santa Rita, Santo Tomas, and Sasmuan are either members of Pineda’s Kambilan party or political allies.

On the other hand, in the town of Floridablanca, Darwin Manalanasan of Lakas beat Eduardo Guerrero of Kambilan with more than 5,000 vote margin.

In Macabebe town, Bobong Flores of PDP-Laban got 14,042 votes against Kambilan’s Edgar Flores who received 11,056 votes based on the 85.5% election return transmittal as of filing this report.

 In the earthquake-stricken Porac town, independent candidate Jing Capil defeated  Kambilan’s Dexter David.  At third was former governor Mark Lapid (NPC) who could only muster 9,589 votes. 

In San Simon town, Jun Punsalan of PDP-Laban beat Kambilan’s Digos Canlas with a margin of only about 140 votes. 

In the town of Magalang, the mayoralty seat is still closely being contested by Romy Pecson (Partido Federal ng Pilipinas) who obtained 20,529 votes and re-electionist Malu Lacson (Kambilan) who got 20,318 votes. As of 3:50 pm, Tuesday, only 76.13% election returns were transmitted from the town’s 88 clustered precincts.

In Angeles City, which is a highly urbanized locality and is politically independent from Pampanga, Kambilan candidate Alex Cauguiran already conceded the mayoralty race to Councilor Carmelo “Pogi” Lazatin Jr. (PFP).

With 99.57% election returns transmitted, Lazatin got 58,955 votes. He is followed by Vice Mayor Brian Nepomuceno with 45,479 votes. Cauguiran received only 26,006 votes. –

Follow Rappler’s full coverage of the 2019 Philippine elections here.

Bookmark this Rappler page for real-time election results.

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.