DZMM bares Iglesia ni Cristo vote for senators
Known for its reliable bloc voting, the religious group can easily deliver at minimum of 3 million votes for chosen national candidates, analysts say

Screenshot of report

MANILA, Philippines – The bloc-voting Iglesia ni Cristo (INC) has chosen the 12 senatorial candidates it will support on May 13, according to a report by

The INC support is not a sure ticket to winning an election, but it plays a deciding role in close races. According to analysts, the religious group can easily deliver a minimum of 3 million votes for the chosen candidates.

Citing sources, DZMM named the following 7 Team PNoy and 5 United Nationalist Alliance candidates: 

1. Sonny Angara

2. Bam Aquino

3. Grace Poe

4. Loren Legarda

5. Antonio Trillanes

6. Cynthia Villar 

7. Alan Peter Cayetano 

8. JV Ejercito

9. Richard Gordon

10. Nancy Binay

11. Gringo Honasan

12. Jack Enrile

Based on the latest Pulse Asia survey, the candidates who made it to the Magic 12 that didn’t make it to the INC list are re-electionists Francis “Chiz” Escudero and Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III and former Sen Juan Miguel Zubiri

Pimentel and Zubiri are in dangerous positions, ranking 10th and 11th, respectively, in the Pulse Asia survey. 

The candidates outside the Magic 12 who made it to the INC list are Sen Gringo Honasan (13th), Cagayan Rep Jack Enrile (14th), and former Sen Richard Gordon (17th).

Candidates refused to confirm DZMM’s list. They said they cannot comment until it is officially announced. –

More from Rappler’s 2013 Philippine elections coverage:

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.