2022 Philippine Elections

Comelec releases tentative list of candidates for 2022 polls

Dwight de Leon
Comelec releases tentative list of candidates for 2022 polls

Raffy de Guzman/Rappler

The tentative list now includes vice presidential aspirant Walden Bello and senatorial bet Jopet Sison, substitutes who submitted their COCs after the candidacy filing deadline on October 8

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) uploaded on its website on Friday, October 29, a tentative list of candidates for elective national and local posts of the 2022 Philippine elections.

The partial list includes the 97 people who submitted their certificates of candidacy (COC) for president during the candidacy filing on October 1 to 8.

Among the notable aspirants for the Malacañang are:

  • Vice President Leni Robredo
  • Senator Manny Pacquiao
  • Senator Ping Lacson
  • Senator Ronald “Bato” Dela Rosa
  • Manila Mayor Isko Moreno
  • Former senator and dictator’s son Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr.
  • Former presidential spokesman Ernesto Abella
  • Former defense chief Norberto Gonzales
  • Labor leader Leody De Guzman

There are also 27 names in the list of vice presidential aspirants. Former Akbayan representative Walden Bello, who substituted for Raquel Castillo on October 20, is now part of the lineup as the vice presidential aspirant from Partido Lakas ng Masa.

Other notable names for the country’s second highest post include:

  • Senate President Vicente Sotto III
  • Senator Christopher “Bong” Go
  • Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan
  • House Deputy Speaker Lito Atienza
  • Physician Willie Ong

In the senatorial lineup, 174 names made it to the list, including Jopet Sison, the Aksyon Demokratiko aspirant who substituted for former vice president Noli de Castro, after the latter dropped out of the race on October 13.

The intent of the publication of a tentative list is for the aspirants to check the names that would appear on the official ballot. They have until November 8 to file a request for correction.

“All aspirants are advised to check that their name is on the list and is spelled correctly. You have a limited window within which to submit your requests for corrections,” Comelec spokesman James Jimenez said in a tweet on Friday.

The final list of candidates will be released around December, Jimenez had said. Until then, the Comelec could still trim the tentative list by removing nuisance candidates.

The deadline of substitution of COC filers who withdrew or were disqualified by final judgment, meanwhile, is November 15. – Rappler.com

The tentative list of aspirants for local positions can be accessed on the Comelec website, although the list of provinces was incomplete as of posting time.

You can also access them via various pages on Rappler.

Who are running for national positions: 

Who are running for local positions: 

Who are running in Metro Manila and the 81 provinces:

Dwight de Leon

Dwight de Leon is a multimedia reporter who covers local government units and the Commission on Elections for Rappler.