2022 Philippine Elections

LIST: Who is running in Leyte in the 2022 Philippine elections?

LIST: Who is running in Leyte in the 2022 Philippine elections?
They are running in 5 congressional districts, 3 cities (including Tacloban City), and 40 municipalities

Political aspirants in 81 provinces filed their certificates of candidacies October 1-8.

In Leyte, they are running in 5 congressional districts, 3 cities (including highly-urbanized Tacloban City), and 40 municipalities.

Who will be running for elective positions in Leyte in the coming May 2022 polls?

This page has been updated to reflect the Commission on Elections’ tentative list “based on the initial evaluation of the Certificates of Nomination, Certificates of Candidacy and Certificates of Nomination and Acceptance.”

The Comelec says “the contents of the list…are subject to change as a result of any further evaluation or resolution” of the commission en banc.

For Governor

  • Romulo Gacgacao (Independent)
  • Avito “Avit” Opiniano (People’s Reform Party or PRP)
  • Carlos Jericho “Icot” Petilla (PDP-Laban)

For Vice Governor

  • Leonardo “Sandy” Javier Jr. (PDP-Laban)
  • Carlo Pilpa (Independent)

For Board Member

First District
  • Angel “Lito” Bagunas (Independent)
  • Edward “Butch” Colasito (PRP)
  • Ronnan Christian “Atty. Bolingling” Reposar (Liberal Party or LP)
  • Wilson Uy (PDP-Laban)
Second District
  • Moises Andrade (Independent)
  • Trinidad “Ebbie” Apostol (PDP-Laban)
  • Odell Baroña (Independent)
  • Anderson Encarnacion (Independent)
  • Dennis Garay (Kilusang Bagong Lipunan or KBL)
  • Felizardo Tiu (PRP)
  • Raissa Villasin (PDP-Laban)
  • Benjamin “Bentan” Villegas (KBL)
Third District
  • Ma. Corazon “Maricor” Remandaban (PDP-Laban)
  • Marie Kathryn “Chinggay” Veloso (National Unity Party or NUP)
Fourth District
  • Flaviano “Ivan” Centino Jr. (PDP-Laban)
  • Elmer Frederico “Rico” Codilla (Promdi)
  • Vincent “Vince” Rama (PDP-Laban)
Fifth District
  • Michael “Mike” Cari (PDP-Laban)
  • Carlo Loreto (PDP-Laban)

For congressional representatives

First District
  • Ferdinand Martin Romualdez (Lakas-CMD)
Second District
  • Ronald Dominic Babante (Partido Federal ng Pilipinas or PFP)
  • Alberto Hidalgo (Independent)
  • Lolita “Karen” Javier (Nacionalista Party or NP)
  • Henry Ong (PDP-Laban)
Third District
  • Anna Victoria Veloso-Tuazon (NUP)
Fourth District
  • Richard Gomez (PDP-Laban)
  • Gregorio “Goyo” Larrazabal (Independent)
Fifth District
  • Carl Nicolas Cari (PDP-Laban)

Cities and municipalities


For Mayor
  • Nael Gertos (PDP-Laban)
For Vice Mayor
  • Bryan Nile “Tata Nile” Gertos (PDP-Laban)
For Councilor
  • Raul “Loloy” Acenas (PDP-Laban)
  • Gerry Aureo (PDP-Laban)
  • Pepe Diao (PDP-Laban)
  • Anthony “An-An” Echevarre (PDP-Laban)
  • Danilo “Danny” Pitogo (PDP-Laban)
  • Herbert Salazar (PDP-Laban)
  • Mark “Makmak” Salvatierra (PDP-Laban)
  • Arnulfo “Arnold” Taneo (PDP-Laban)


For Mayor
  • Milo Contapay (Reform PH-People’s Party or RP)
  • Eduardo Ong Jr. (PDP-Laban)
For Vice Mayor
  • Eduardo Ong Sr. (PDP-Laban)
  • Vanissa Zartiga (RP)


For Mayor
  • Maria Farah “Marah” Buzon-Laraga (Promdi)
  • Manuel “Linlin” Villahermosa (PDP-Laban)
For Vice Mayor
  • Jacqueline Claudine “Jacky” Roble (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Albert “Bentong” Villahermosa (PDP-Laban)
For Councilor
  • Edna Alcuino (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Edwin “Win” Anadon (Independent)
  • Gwendelyn “Gwen” Aniscal (Bagumbayan Volunteers for a New Philippines or BVNP)
  • Leonila “Inday” Dichoso (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Joel Ermitaño (BVNP)
  • Edwin Faller (PDP-Laban)
  • Ian Manuel “Ayan-Boy” Flandez (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Roberto “Bohbie” Flores Jr. (BVNP)
  • Serafin “Sery” Fulache (Promdi)
  • Manuel Gabisan (PDP-Laban)
  • John Kimfield “Kim” Go (Promdi)
  • Manuel “Aton” Lora (PDP-Laban)
  • Bernadeth “Badeth” Nerves (PDP-Laban)
  • Cris Antonio “Bongbong” Ong (PDP-Laban)
  • Francisco “Boy” Ortega (PDP-Laban)
  • Aline Reoma (PDP-Laban)
  • Harry Viterbo (Independent)
  • Trinidad “Trining” Zarate (PDP-Laban)


For Mayor
  • Azucena Mirambel (PDP-Laban)
  • Rogelio “Jojo” Pua Jr. (Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino or LDP)
For Vice Mayor
  • Sanders “Andy” Lumarda (LDP)
  • Lourdes Villas (PDP-Laban)


For Mayor
  • Jed Granados (NUP)
  • Arnold James “Noli” Ysidoro (NP)
For Vice Mayor
  • Pedro “Peter” Panis (NPC)
  • Armando “Amay” Ysidoro (NP)

Ormoc City

For Mayor
  • Edward “Ondo” Codilla (PRP)
  • Joemar Gallardo (Independent)
  • Glend Gomez (Partido Pilipino sa Pagbabago or PPP)
  • Lucy Marie Torres-Gomez (PDP-Laban)
For Vice Mayor
  • Leo Carmelo “Toto” Locsin Sr. (PDP-Laban)
  • Francis Pepito (Aksyon Demokratiko)

Tacloban City (Capital)

For Mayor
  • Quintin Nilo Ayuste (Independent)
  • Alfred Romualdez (NP)
  • Jerry “Sambo” Yaokasin (Independent)
For Vice Mayor
  • Edwin Chua (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Raymund Vincent Romualdez (NP)

We will post the official list of candidates once the Commission on Elections makes it available.

 – Rappler.com