2022 Philippine Elections

LIST: Who is running in Negros Occidental in the 2022 Philippine elections?

LIST: Who is running in Negros Occidental in the 2022 Philippine elections?
They are running in 7 congressional districts (including Bacolod City), 13 cities (including Bacolod City), and 19 municipalities

Political aspirants in 81 provinces filed their certificates of candidacies October 1-8.

In Negros Occidental, they are running in 7 congressional districts (including Bacolod City), 13 cities (including Bacolod City), and 19 municipalities.

Who will be running for elective positions in Negros Occidental in the coming May 2022 polls? 

This page has been updated to reflect the Commission on Elections’ tentative list “based on the initial evaluation of the Certificates of Nomination, Certificates of Candidacy and Certificates of Nomination and Acceptance.”

The Comelec says “the contents of the list…are subject to change as a result of any further evaluation or resolution” of the commission en banc.

For Governor

  • Eugenio Jose “Bong” Lacson (Nationalist People’s Coalition or NPC)
  • Juan Orola Jr. (Pederalismo ng Dugong Dakilang Samahan or PDDS)
  • Ma. Socorro Sibulan (Independent)

For Vice Governor

  • Jeffrey Ferrer (National Unity Party or NUP)
  • Jonry Gargarita (Independent)

For Board Member

First District
  • Rommel “Momoy” Debulgado (NPC)
  • Araceli Somosa (NPC)
Second District
  • Sixto “Pal” Guanzon Jr. (United Negros Alliance or Unega)
  • Samson “Jongben” Mirhan (NUP)
Third District
  • Antonio Barello Jr. (Independent)
  • Manuel Frederick “Manman” Ko (NPC)
  • Andrew Gerard Montelibano (PDP-Laban)
  • Junee “Tukoy” Occida (Independent)
Fourth District
  • Jose Benito “Joeben” Alonso (NUP)
  • Cleo Gaudite (PDDS)
  • Andrew Martin Torres (NPC)
Fifth District
  • Pedro “Pete” Bolaño (PDDS)
  • Rolito “Boardboyet” Espinosa (Lakas-CMD)
  • Rita Angela “Doc Rita” Gatuslao (Unega)
  • Hernan Emmanuel Gatuslao (NPC)
  • Patrick Miguel Montilla (Independent)
  • Anthony Dennis “Anton” Occeño (Independent)
Sixth District
  • Valentino Miguel “Macho” Alonso (NPC)
  • Jeffrey Tubola (NPC)

For congressional representatives

First District
  • Gerardo “Ginggo” Valmayor Jr. (NPC)
Second District
  • Alfredo “Thirdy” Marañon III (NUP)
Third District
  • Jose Francisco “Kiko” Benitez (PDP-Laban)
  • Bernard “Toto Bernard” Ferraris (Reform PH-People’s Party or RP)
Fourth District
  • Juliet Marie Ferrer (NUP)
Fifth District
  • Ma. Lourdes “Marilou” Arroyo (Lakas-CMD)
  • Anthony “Kap Macoy” Javelosa (Independent)
  • Emilio Bernardino “Dino” Yulo (Independent)
Sixth District
  • Mercedes Alvarez (NPC)
Bacolod City, Lone District
  • Daniel Alfonso “Dan” Atayde (Independent)
  • Wilfredo “Willy” David (Independent)
  • Greg Gasataya (NPC)
  • Romy Gustilo (Independent)
  • Narciso “Nonong” San Miguel (PDDS)

Cities and municipalities

Bacolod City (Capital)

For Mayor
  • Alfredo Abelardo “Albee” Benitez (PDP-Laban/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Evelio “Bing” Leonardia (NP/Grupo Progreso)
For Vice Mayor
  • Caesar Distrito (PDP-Laban/Asenso Bacolod)
  • El Cid Familiaran (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Wilson Gamboa Jr. (Independent)
For Councilor
  • Em Ang (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Alan Arroyo (Independent)
  • Joel “Jorge the Wise” Aujero (Independent)
  • Homer Bais (PDP-Laban/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Archie Baribar (Promdi/Grupo Progreso)
  • Kenneth Ian “007” Belario (Independent)
  • Cesar “Toto Cesar” Beloria Jr. (Independent)
  • Lorenzo Ruben “LR” Contreras (People’s Reform Party or PRP)
  • Jonathan Diaz Jr. (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Simplicia “Simple” Distrito (PDP-Laban/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Al Victor Espino (NPC/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Celia Matea Flor (Independent/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Vicente “Vic” Gico Jr. (Independent)
  • Vladimir “Vladi” Gonzales (PDP-Laban/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Eddie “Ed” Guillem (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Walter “Bong” Hermosura (Independent)
  • Jiffy Jauod (Independent)
  • Patrick Leonard Lacson (PDP-Laban/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Carlos Jose “Carl” Lopez (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Mark Steven Mayo (NPC)
  • Baby Cashmere April “Cash” Montalvo (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Fermin Nacionales (Independent)
  • Renecito Novero (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Bartolome “Bart” Orola (PDP-Laban/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Eduardo Padios (Independent)
  • Claudio Jesus Raymundo “Kalaw” Puentevella (Promdi/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Dindo Ramos (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Cindy Rojas (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Israel Salanga (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Jude Thaddeus “Thaddy” Sayson (PDP-Laban/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Marlon Solidum (NPC/Grupo Progreso)
  • Chris Sorongon (NP/Grupo Progreso)
  • Psyche Marie “Pao” Sy (NPC/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Ricardo “Cano Gwapo” Tan (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Sonya Verdeflor (Unega/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Rico Ferdinand William Villafuerte (Independent)
  • Jason Isidro Villarosa (Lakas-CMD/Asenso Bacolod)
  • Christian Weber (Independent)

Kabankalan City

For Mayor
  • James Gingos (Independent)
  • Joseph Lopez (Independent)
  • Benjie Miranda (PDDS)
  • Pedro Zayco Jr. (NPC)
For Vice Mayor
  • Freddie dela Torre (Independent)
  • Raul Rivera (NPC)
  • Joel Tagapan Sr. (Independent)
  • Miguel “Migz” Zayco (Aksyon Demokratiko)

Moises Padilla

For Mayor
  • Absalon Alconera Sr. (NPC)
  • Ella Celestina Garcia-Yulo (NUP)
  • Francisco “Juco” Nazareno (Liberal Party or LP)
For Vice Mayor
  • Gregorio “Gigi” Gayona Jr. (Independent)
  • Jan Miriam Snook (NPC)
  • Antonio Marvin Tan (Promdi)
  • Adrian “Ian” Villaflor (NUP)

Silay City

For Mayor
  • Joedith Gallego (Independent)
  • Mark Andrew Arthur Golez (PDP-Laban)
For Vice Mayor
  • Thomas Maynard “Tom” Ledesma (PDP-Laban)
  • Michael Thomas “Mykol” Velez (Independent)
For Councilor
  • Demetria “Demes” Apla-on (PDP-Laban)
  • Henry Belleza (PDP-Laban)
  • Andres “Jun” Belonio Jr. (Independent)
  • Lyndon Bernardo (PDP-Laban)
  • Edsel Cabrillos (Independent)
  • Ramon Celebre (PDP-Laban)
  • Angelo “Toto Champ” Celis (Unega)
  • Renato Doloso (Unega)
  • Antonio “Allan” Duca Jr. (PDP-Laban)
  • Remie “Bobot” Emberga (Independent)
  • Ma. Cecilia “Maam Cecil” Ferrer (Independent)
  • Ryan Milos Romeo Gamboa (PDP-Laban)
  • Ma. Ana “Ann” Gardose (Independent)
  • James Anthony Marie Golez (PDP-Laban)
  • Edencio Gregorio (Independent)
  • Darryl Hinolan (NUP)
  • Estrella Jarder (Independent)
  • Maximo “Max” Javelona III (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Aileen Javier (Independent)
  • Lorenzo Luiz “Enzo” Locsin (Unega)
  • Jose “Toti” Lopez Jr. (PDP-Laban)
  • Michael “Mike” Maravilla (Unega)
  • Henry “Miano” Pelaez (Independent)
  • Andrew John “Noynoy” Penuela (PDP-Laban)
  • Edwin John Dennis “Denden” Velez (PDP-Laban)

Victorias City

For Mayor
  • Javier Miguel “Javi” Benitez (Independent)
  • Jerry “Didi” Jover (PDDS)
  • J. Paul Octaviano (RP)
For Vice Mayor
  • Abelardo “Junb” Bantug III (PDP-Laban)
  • Rene Imperial (PDDS)
  • Gabriel “Toto Gabby” Timbol (RP)

We will post the official list of candidates once the Commission on Elections makes it available.

 – Rappler.com