2022 Philippine Elections

LIST: Who are seeking Senate reelection, comeback in 2022?

LIST: Who are seeking Senate reelection, comeback in 2022?
(8th UPDATE) Who are the incumbent and former senators hoping to return to the chamber in the 2022 elections? Bookmark and refresh this page for updates

Veteran legislators and prominent politicians are once again among those vying for one of 12 coveted seats up for grabs in the 2022 senatorial elections.

Senate hopefuls started trooping to the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila on Friday, October 1, to file their certificates of candidacy (COC). The COC filing period will run until Friday, October 8. 

Among those expected to run for the Senate are incumbent legislators eligible for reelection as well as former senators seeking to return to the upper chamber. They are likely backed by major political parties in their respective senatorial bids. 

Below is a list of those who are either seeking reelection or hoping to stage a comeback in 2022. Their names are listed in the order of their filing at the Commission on Elections’ COC filing venue at Sofitel:


Leila de Lima
Leila de Lima COC
DE LIMA. Leila de Lima fills out from jail her COC for Senate reelection. Office of Senator Leila De Lima
Office of Senator De Lima
  • Party: Liberal Party
Win Gatchalian
GATCHALIAN. Win Gatchalian, chairman of the Committee on Basic Education, Arts and Culture, speaks at a hybrid plenary session on August 3, 2021. Voltaire F. Domingo/Senate PRIB
  • Party: Nationalist People’s Coalition
Richard Gordon
GORDON. Richard Gordon sits inside his office. Angie de Silva/Rappler
Angie de Silva/Rappler
  • Party: Bagumbayan VNP Movement
Risa Hontiveros
HONTIVEROS. Risa Hontiveros smiles during an interview with Rappler in 2013.
  • Party: Akbayan Party
Joel Villanueva
VILLANUEVA. Senator Joel Villanueva files his COC for reelection as senator in the May 2022 elections, at the Sofitel hotel in Pasay City on October 6, 2021. Angie de Silva/Rappler
  • Party: Independent 
Juan Miguel Zubiri
ZUBIRI. Senate Majority Leader Juan Miguel “Migz” F. Zubiri speaks during a hybrid plenary session on August 24, 2021.
  • Party: Independent
  • Current post in government: Senate Majority Leader


Alan Peter Cayetano
CAYETANO. Alan Peter Cayetano speaks during a hearing on the budget of the Department of Foreign Affairs on August 28, 2018.
  • Party: Independent
  • Current post in government: Taguig City-Pateros 1st District representative
Noli de Castro
  • Party: Aksyon Demokratiko
  • Current post in government: None
JV Ejercito
EJERCITO. Former senator JV Ejercito speaks to the media upon his arrival at the Sofitel Hotel on October 2 for the filing of his COC for senator for the 2022 national elections.
  • Party: Nationalist People’s Coalition
  • Current post in government: None
Chiz Escudero
ESCUDERO. Chiz Escudero delivers a speech at the Senate plenary hall in 2013.
  • Party: Nationalist People’s Coalition
  • Current post in government: Sorsogon governor
Jinggoy Estrada
File photo
  • Party: Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino
  • Current post in government: None
Gringo Honasan
HONASAN. Gregorio Honasan II updates President Rodrigo Duterte on his agency’s accomplishments during a meeting with the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Emerging Infectious Diseases core members on September 13, 2021. King Rodriguez/Presidential photo
  • Party: Independent
  • Current position in government: Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) Secretary
Loren Legarda
LEGARDA. Then-senator Loren Legarda attends a hearing in the Senate on October 1, 2018.
  • Party: Nationalist People’s Coalition
  • Current post in government: Antique representative
Antonio Trillanes IV
TRILLANES. Antonio Trillanes IV holds a press conference in the Senate on September 26, 2018.
Photo by Angie de Silva/Rappler
  • Party: Liberal Party
  • Current post in government: None

– Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.