2022 Philippine senatorial race

Maharlika People’s Party has 11 senatorial bets

Pauline Macaraeg
Maharlika People’s Party has 11 senatorial bets

Alejandro Edoria/Rappler

The party wants to field Bongbong Marcos and Sara Duterte for president and vice president, respectively. These nominees are replaced by Apolonia Soguilon and Elpidio Rosales Jr. on the last day of filing.

Eleven members of the Maharlika People’s Party filed their certificates of candidacy (COC) for senator from October 7 to 8.

The party was created only in 2020, at the height of the pandemic. On its website, the party describes itself as a “dynamic political party for a real and dynamic change.” It endorses former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. for president, and presidential daughter and Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte for vice president.

On October 4, the party sought to nominate Marcos Jr. for president, but the certificate of nomination and acceptance it presented was not signed by Marcos. On October 6, Marcos filed his COC for president under the Partido Federal ng Pilipinas (PFP).

Different names were filed in place of Marcos and Duterte on the last day of the COC filing. On October 8, Apolonia Soguilon filed for president and Elpidio Rosales Jr. for vice president under the Maharlika People’s Party.

In 2016, Soguilon also accepted the nomination to run for president under the Philippine Green Republican Party.

Below is Maharlika People’s Party’s senatorial slate:

  1. Antonio Alabata
  2. Oscar Arcilla Jr.
  3. Edgar Avinado
  4. Pol Bulilan
  5. Marcil Guay
  6. William Iliw-Iliw
  7. Ruel Lamoste
  8. Luther Meniano
  9. Rundy Montoya
  10. Rosemarie Palacio
  11. Aaron Soguilon

– Rappler.com

Pauline Macaraeg

Pauline Macaraeg is part of the Rappler Research Team’s fact-checking unit. Aside from debunking dubious claims, she also enjoys crunching data and writing stories about the economy, environment, and media democracy.