2022 Philippine Elections

LIST: Who is running in Ilocos Norte in the 2022 Philippine elections?

LIST: Who is running in Ilocos Norte in the 2022 Philippine elections?
They are running in 2 congressional districts, 2 cities, and 21 municipalities

Political aspirants in 81 provinces filed their certificates of candidacies October 1-8.

In Ilocos Norte, they are running in 2 congressional districts, 2 cities, and 21 municipalities.

Who will be running for elective positions in Ilocos Norte in the coming May 2022 polls? 

This page has been updated to reflect the Commission on Elections’ tentative list “based on the initial evaluation of the Certificates of Nomination, Certificates of Candidacy and Certificates of Nomination and Acceptance.”

The Comelec says “the contents of the list…are subject to change as a result of any further evaluation or resolution” of the commission en banc.

For Governor

  • Rodolfo “Rudy” Fariñas (Partido para sa Demokratikong Reporma or PDR)
  • Matthew Marcos Manotoc (Nacionalista Party or NP)

For Vice Governor

  • Sherwin Bumanglag (PDR)
  • Arlene Josephine “Joy Mintalon” Butay (Independent)
  • Cecilia Araneta Marcos (NP)
  • Michael Ramones (PDP-Laban)

For Board Member

First District
  • Modesto de la Cuesta (PDP-Laban)
  • Rodolfo Christian “Junior” Fariñas III (PDP-Laban)
  • Saul Paulo Lazo (NP)
  • Donald Nicolas (NP)
  • John Aldrick Peralta (NP)
  • Emilio Perucho (Independent)
  • Franklin Dante Respicio (NP)
  • Portia Pamela Salenda (NP)
Second District
  • Macarthur Aguinaldo (NP)
  • Giancarlo Angelo Crisostomo (NP)
  • Rosemarie “Marie” Dumlao (Kilusang Bagong Lipunan or KBL)
  • Medeldorf Gaoat (NP)
  • Walter John Lozano Sr. (Independent)
  • Rafael Salvador Medina (NP)
  • Julius Marcus “Julu” Nalupta (Independent)
  • Marcelino Quitoras Jr. (PDP-Laban)
  • Mark Raguindin (PDR)
  • Constante “Coco” Reyes (Independent)
  • Aladine Santos (Independent)
  • Angelo Raham Sison (Independent)
  • Arvi Anthony Suga (PDR)
  • Jonathan Torralba (NP)

For congressional representatives

First District
  • Ria Christina Fariñas (PDP-Laban)
  • Ferdinand Alexander “Sandro” Marcos (NP)
Second District
  • Juanito Antonio (PDP-Laban)
  • Eugenio Angelo Marcos Barba (NP)
  • Jeffrey Jubal Nalupta (PDR)

Cities and municipalities


For Mayor
  • Oswaldo Glen Parado (PDR)
  • Joefrey Saguid (NP)
For Vice Mayor
  • Erdio Valenzuela (NP)

Laoag City (Capital)

For Mayor
  • Chevylle Fariñas (PDP-Laban)
  • Michael Keon (Independent)
  • Vicentito “Toto” Lazo (NP)
For Vice Mayor
  • Rey Carlos Fariñas (PDP-Laban)
  • Ameurfina Respicio (NP)
For Councilor
  • Roque Benjamin Ablan (Lakas-CMD)
  • James Bryan Alcid (NP)
  • Enrico Ang (NP)
  • Enrico Aurelio (Independent)
  • Jaybee Baquiran (NP)
  • Jessie James Bonoan (Independent)
  • Edison Bongbong Bonoan Jr. (NP)
  • Edison Chua (Independent)
  • Johanson “Hanson” Chua (Independent)
  • Justine Clarence Chua (Independent)
  • Constante “Jon-Jon” Dancel Jr. (NP)
  • Jeff Ericson Fariñas (PDP-Laban)
  • John Michael Fariñas (PDP-Laban)
  • Roger John “RJ” Fariñas II (PDP-Laban)
  • Derick Lao (PDP-Laban)
  • Handy Lao (NP)
  • Paul Anthony Luz (PDP-Laban)
  • Paul Mark Luz (PDP-Laban)
  • Josephus Nerez (NP)
  • Jason Bader Perera (PDP-Laban)
  • Marlo Matias Reg (PDP-Laban)
  • Juan Conrado Respicio II (NP)
  • Elmar Siazon (NP)
  • Sonia Siazon (PDP-Laban)
  • Syrome Vincent Tan (PDP-Laban)


For Mayor
  • Rafael Ralph “Raffy” Benemerito II (Lakas-CMD)
  • Ferdinand “Pago” Garvida (KBL)
  • Matilde “Maja” Sales (NP)
For Vice Mayor
  • Melvyn “Bingbong” Calvan II (Lakas-CMD)
  • Mariecel “Marie” Garvida (KBL)
  • Marlon Ferdinand Sales (NP)

We will post the official list of candidates once the Commission on Elections makes it available in November. 

– Rappler.com