15 clustered precincts first to transmit 2019 election results

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – Fifteen clustered precincts were the first to transmit results of the 2019 midterm elections on Monday, May 13, all at exactly 6:05:00 pm.

These clustered precincts are:

From 6:05:00 to 6:05:59 pm, or the first minute, a total of 359 clustered precincts transmitted results. This number is only a fraction of the 85,769 clustered precincts across the Philippines.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) is targeting 100% transmission this year. 

Polls closed at 6 pm in most parts of the country after opening at 6 am. The Comelec announced in December 2018 that this year's voting hours were going to be extended by one hour to accommodate the large number of voters.

Over 61 million voters were expected to cast their votes in the elections often referred to as a referendum for the current administration.

The conduct of this year's polls was marred by technical difficulties, with several reports of vote-counting machines rejecting ballots and having paper jams. (READ: Election 2019 technical issues: Paper jams, malfunctioning machines)

During the 2016 presidential elections, Kajatian Elementary School in the town of Indanan, Sulu, was the first precinct to transmit. 

Track partial and unofficial results as they come in on Rappler's #PHVote results page– Rappler.com

Editor's Note: It was earlier reported that Malita Primary School in Bangued, Abra, was the first to transmit results. The school is only among the 359 clustered precincts which transmitted within the first minute.

Follow Rappler's full coverage of the 2019 Philippine elections here.