LIST: House committee chairmanships of the 17th Congress

MANILA, Philippines (11th UPDATE) – The House of Representatives has formed 72 committees as of Monday, May 15.

House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez said they are assigning committees to legislators who belong to the majority and who have the competence to lead.

"They belong to the majority. So tinitignan din natin dito kung 3rd termer ka na and meron kang capability, so dun natin binibigay ‘yung chairmanships (So we're looking also if you're a 3rd termer and if have the capability to be given a chairmanship)," said Alvarez.

As expected, members of President Rodrigo Duterte's Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) nabbed key committee chairmanships.

As the House Majority Leader, Ilocos Norte 1st District Representative Rudy Fariñas heads the Committee on Rules.

He is responsible for all matters relating to the rules of the House, rules of procedure governing inquiries in aid of legislation and impeachment proceedings, and the House order and calendar of business, among others.

PDP-Laban member and Oriental Mindoro 2nd District Representative Reynaldo Umali chairs the Justice Committee, which will tackle crucial bills like the reimposition of the death penalty via lethal injection co-authored by House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez and Deputy House Speaker Fredenil Castro.

The said committee also takes care of impeachment cases.

Members of parties that have coalesced with PDP-Laban – the Nacionalista Party (NP), Nationalist People's Coalition (NPC), National Unity Party (NUP), Lakas-CMD, and the Liberal Party (LP) – were given key committees as well.

NUP member and Davao City 1st District Representative Karlo Nograles now heads the Committee on Appropriations. He previously chaired the Committee on Labor and Employment. 

The Appropriations Committee oversees the drafting of the national budget and other matters related to government expenditures. Nograles' panel also determines the compensation and benefits of government personnel. 

Former House Speaker and Quezon City 4th District Representative Feliciano Belmonte Jr is also the chairperson of the newly-created Special Committee on the West Philippine Sea

It is tasked to handle matters directly and principally relating to West Philippine Sea (South China Sea), including territorial and boundary disputes, national and regional peace, and security issues, joint cooperation arrangements and maritime and environmental concerns.

Below is the list of House committee chairmanships in the 17th Congress so far:

San Juan City Representative Ronaldo Zamora was also named the head of the House contingent for the Commission on Appointments. He was the minority leader in the 16th Congress. –

Mara Cepeda

Mara Cepeda writes about politics and women’s rights for Rappler. She covers the House of Representatives and the Office of the Vice President. Got tips? Send her an email at or shoot her a tweet @maracepeda.