IATF completes nationwide implementation of COVID-19 alert level system

The government's alert level system for COVID-19 response will be fully implemented nationwide starting Monday, November 22.

Acting spokesman of the COVID-19 Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF), Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles, announced the start of Phase 4 of alert level system implementation on Saturday.

Also included in this alert level system are the Cordillera Administrative Region, Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, Mimaropa, and Caraga.

From November 22 to 30, the following areas in these regions are under Alert Level 2:

  • Benguet
  • Abra
  • Kalinga
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Marinduque
  • Romblon
  • Palawan
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Butuan City
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Basilan
  • Cotabato City
  • Tawi-Tawi
  • Lanao del Sur
  • Maguindanao

The following areas are under Alert Level 3 from November 22 to 30:

  • Apayao
  • Mountain Province
  • Ifugao
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Sulu

Meanwhile, Metro Manila and most areas in the country are under Alert Level 2 until November 30.

President Rodrigo Duterte signed Executive Order No. 151 on November 11, approving the nationwide implementation of the alert level system for COVID-19 response.

The system replaces the old system of quarantine classifications, which comprised of enhanced community quarantine (ECQ), modified ECQ (MECQ), general community quarantine (GCQ), and modified GCQ (MGCQ). The new system is more relaxed with age mobility restrictions and provides perks to fully-vaccinated people. – Rappler.com

Vernise Tantuco

Vernise Tantuco is on Rappler's Research Team, fact checking suspicious claims, wrangling data, and telling stories that need to be heard.