PNP assigns new police chiefs in Ilocos Norte, Nueva Vizcaya

CAGAYAN, Philippines – The provinces of Ilocos Norte and Nueva Vizcaya have new police commanders in time for the 2016 elections.

The relief and re-assignment of the two provincial directors took place after the start of the election gun ban on January 10.

The two are among the more than 700 police commanders reshuffled recently.

The Philippine National Police (PNP) assigned Senior Superintendent Leumar Abugan as the new provincial police chief of Nueva Vizcaya.

Abugan served as the chief of logistics operations of Cagayan Valley regional police office in Tuguegarao City, Cagayan. 

He replaced Senior Superintendent John Luglug, who was appointed chief of directorial staff of the Criminal Investigation and Detection Group in Camp Crame.

Abugan is a 1992 graduate of the Philippine National Police Academy.

Turnover ceremonies were held at the Nueva Vizcaya provincial police office in Bayombong town.

Meanwhile, Senior Superintendent Albert Ocon received his relief order as provincial police chief of Ilocos Norte province on January 11.

Senior Superintendent Jose Melecio Nartates took over as chief.

The PNP is one of the major agencies deputized by the Commission on Elections to ensure safe and honest polls. It is not allowed to reassign personnel during the campaign period. –