Lani Cayetano, Kenneth Cobonpue, 19 others appointed by Duterte

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – Malacañang released the appointment papers of 22 individuals chosen for national government positions by President Rodrigo Duterte.

Among them are new presidential consultant for education Jose David Lapuz, new Legislative-Executive Development Advisory Council (LEDAC) member Lani Cayetano, and new Regional Development Council co-chairperson Kenneth Cobonpue.

Cayetano is mayor of Taguig City and wife of Senator Alan Peter Cayetano, Duterte's former running mate.

Cobonpue is a world-renowned furniture designer from Cebu.

Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) Director Renato Solidum Jr has also been appointed undersecretary of the Department of Science and Technology.

National Youth Commission chairperson Aiza Seguerra is now also a LEDAC member tasked with representing the youth.

Jose Antonio Goitia, the membership committee chairman of the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) for the National Capital Region, is the new executive director of the Pasig River Rehabilitation Commission. PDP-Laban is the President's political party.

Baguio City Mayor Mauricio Domogan is now chairman of the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) Regional Development Council. Domogan is a member of former president Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo's political party, Lakas-CMD.

Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry president George Barcelon has been appointed LEDAC member representing the private sector.

Below is the complete list of Duterte appointees whose new roles were released to media on Monday:


Pia Ranada

Pia Ranada covers the Office of the President and Bangsamoro regional issues for Rappler. While helping out with desk duties, she also watches the environment sector and the local government of Quezon City. For tips or story suggestions, you can reach her at