LIST: Duterte appointees announced on September 1, 2016

MANILA, Philippines – Malacañang released a list of the latest appointees of President Rodrigo Duterte on Thursday night, September 1.

The new presidential appointees include Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Director Eduardo Gongona, Dangerous Drugs Board chairman Benjamin Panganiban Perez, Agricultural Training Institute Director Alfredo Sarautom Aton, and Office of Civil Defense Director Liza Fidelis Fernandez Cañada.

Also in the list are new undersecretaries and assistant secretaries of the interior, agriculture, health, foreign affairs, and trade departments.

Interior Undersecretary John Castriciones, a lawyer, was active in the Duterte presidential campaign. He was executive vice president of Mayor Rodrigo Roa Duterte (MRRD) group, a nationwide volunteer organization.

Newly-appointed Interior Undersecretary Emily Padilla was also a core member of MRRD. 

Agriculture Undersecretary Evelyn Laviña is the wife of Duterte campaign spokesman and now Deputy Cabinet Secretary Peter Laviña.

Former Armed Forces chief General Emmanuel Bautista was retained as an undersecretary at the Office of the President, the same position he held under the previous administration.

Despite opposition from labor groups, Manuel Teehankee was appointed as foreign affairs undersecretary.

Migrant groups had earlier asked the President not to appoint Teehankee, citing a  case filed against him by his house helper in 2005, when he was Philippine ambassador to the World Trade Organization in Geneva. He allegedly refused to give her days-off and paid her less than the Swiss minimum wage.

Teehankee was found guilty of usury, and sentenced to 60 days on probation and fined 400 Swiss Francs* by the Geneva Police Court in Switzerland on December 17, 2014.

But Teehankee said his actions were a result of a "misunderstanding" on the required amount of wages under Swiss laws and that he has already paid all the proper wages.

Teehankee was a justice undersecretary during the administration of Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

Here is the complete list of appointees announced on September 1, 2016: