LIST: 78 local universities, colleges covered by free tuition law

MANILA, Philippines – Students of 78 local universities and colleges (LUCs) across the country will no longer have to pay for their tuition and fees starting school year 2018 to 2019. 

This is after the Commission on Higher Education (CHED), in an en banc meeting on February 13, decided to include the 78 LUCs under the coverage of Republic Act No. 10931 or the free tuition law.

CHED officer-in-charge Prospero de Vera III made the announcement on Thursday, March 15. (READ: LIST: State colleges and universities covered by free tuition law

LUCs are educational institutions created by local government units through ordinances and other enabling acts. 

The 78 LUCs now covered by the Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act of 2017 are as follows:  

National Capital Region

Region I – Ilocos

Region III – Central Luzon

Region IV-A – Calabarzon 

Region IV-B – Mimaropa

Region V – Bicol

Region VI – Western Visayas

Region VII – Central Visayas

Region VIII – Eastern Visayas

Region IX – Zamboanga Peninsula

Region X – Northern Mindanao

Region XI – Davao Region

Region XII – Soccsksargen


De Vera said CHED will announce another batch of qualified LUCS before classes open next school year 2019 to 2020. – 

Mara Cepeda

Mara Cepeda writes about politics and women’s rights for Rappler. She covers the House of Representatives and the Office of the Vice President. Got tips? Send her an email at or shoot her a tweet @maracepeda.