Marcos burial: What did the dissenting SC justices say?

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – Five justices voted in favor of the petitioners who opposed the planned burial of the late president Ferdinand Marcos at the Libingan ng mga Bayani.

Four of them issued separate dissenting opinions: Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, Senior Justice Antonio Carpio and Associate Justices Marvic Leonen and Alfredo Caguioa. Justice Francis Jardeleza was the fifth dissenter.

Supreme Court (SC) Spokesperson Theodore Te announced Tuesday, November 8, that the High Court has lifted the status quo ante order and allowed state interment for the late dictator, arguing that there is no specific law prohibiting it. (READ: Supreme Court: Marcos was not pure evil)

Four of the 5 dissenters (excluding Carpio) were appointed by former president Benigno Aquino III, the son of two democracy icons who staunchly fought the Marcos dictatorship. 

Here's a summary of the dissenting opinions of the 5 magistrates: 

Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno

Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno's dissenting opinion by Patty Pasion on Scribd 

Senior Justice Antonio Carpio 

Justice Antonio Carpio's dissenting opinion by Patty Pasion on Scribd 

Justice Marvic Leonen 

Justice Marvic Leonen's dissenting opinion by Patty Pasion on Scribd 

Justice Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa 

Justice Alfredo Caguioa's dissenting opinion by Patty Pasion on Scribd 



Patty Pasion

Patty leads the Rappler+ membership program. She used to be a Rappler multimedia reporter who covered politics, labor, and development issues of vulnerable sectors.