Aquino swears in 39 newly-promoted police generals

MANILA, Philippines – President Benigno S. Aquino III on Wednesday, August 20, administered the oath to office 39 newly-promoted police generals led by Police Deputy Director Leonardo Espina and Police Deputy Director Marcelo Garbo Jr.

Promoted to Police Directors are:


Promoted to Police Chief Superintendent are:


Co Chua, who replaces George Syliangco, was a board member of the People’s Television Network, Inc (PTV-4) and director for operations of the Edsa People Power Commission.

Acuña, who was NSC Director III prior to her appointment, replaces Augusto Francisco J. Mier as NSC Assistant Director General.

The new appointees include NSC Director V Lorenzo A. Clavejo and Ruperta T. Salvanera, Acting Director III; Christine V. Antonio, Director IV of the Public-Private Partnership Center of the Philippines-National Economic Development Authority; and Benjo Santos M. Benavidez, Acting Director IV, Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE).

The others are Allan S. Montaño, representative of the labor sector in the Board of Trustees of the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA);  Ma Vilma V. Diez, Acting Director III, Department of Health; and Raul O. Serrano as member of the board of directors of the Development Bank of the Philippines.

Malacañang also announced the appointment of John Eulalio Nepomuceno O. Aparis II as regular member of the Sangguniang Panlungsod of Ormoc City, Leyte; and Alberto T. Escobarte, Acting Director IV of the Department of Education (DepEd).

The new Schools Division Superintendents under DepEd are the following:

With the exception of the PNP generals, all the appointments were signed on August 18, but released only to the media on Wednesday, August 20. –