Philippines places Latvia on COVID-19 ‘red list’

Philippines places Latvia on COVID-19 ‘red list’

HOLIDAY. A huge number of people traveling to their respective provinces to visit the tomb of their departed loved ones for Undas.


Check here which countries are under red, green, and yellow lists

The coronavirus disease Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) placed Latvia, an eastern European country, on “red list” for COVID-19 which means travelers from this country are barred from the entering the Philippines.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque made the announcement in a press briefing on Friday, October 29.

Inaprubahan din po ng inyong IATF ang panibagong red, green at yellow list effective mula a-uno ng Nobyembre hanggang a-kinse po ng Nobyembre. Nasa red list po ang isang bansa lang po, Latvia,” Roque said.

(The IATF also approved a new list of red, green, and yellow countries effective November 1 until 15. Latvia is the only country on red list.

The IATF also released an updated list of “green” countries and jurisdictions that would be covered by more relaxed quarantine rules for people wishing to enter the Philippines.

The following countries and jurisdictions are under “green list”:

  • Algeria
  • American Samoa
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • Mainland China
  • Comoros
  • Cook Islands
  • Eritrea
  • Falkland Island
  • Hong Kong
  • Kiribati
  • Madagascar
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Federated State of Micronesia
  • Montserrat
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Niue
  • North Korea
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Palau
  • Poland
  • Saba (Special Municipality of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sint Eustatius
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sudan, Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Tokelau
  • Tonga
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Yemen

“Ang mga lugar na hindi nabanggit po ay nasa ilalim pa rin ng yellow list,” Roque said. (All countries that were not mentioned are on the yellow list.)

Travelers coming from yellow list countries, regardless of vaccination status, will undergo a 14-day quarantine upon arrival. The first 10 days will be in a quarantine facility, while the remaining four days will be under home quarantine in their respective local government units of destination.

They will be subject to reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) testing on the seventh day.

On October 13, Roque announced that there was no need for facility-based quarantine for fully-vaccinated foreigners and Filipinos upon arrival in the Philippines so long as they come from “green” countries.

This, however, was opposed by Health Secretary Francisco Duque III. He said that he wasn’t consulted when the IATF decided on the new policy.

Roque also announced on Friday that the IATF also approved the creation of a sub-technical working group in-charge of formulating and recommending special pilot testing and quarantine protocols for Filipino travelers, overseas Filipino workers and their families from the green and yellow lists.

Must Read

PH’s last-minute quarantine changes force travelers to spend thousands

PH’s last-minute quarantine changes force travelers to spend thousands Magsambol