PH honors 'heroes of Marawi' with noontime salute

MANILA, Philippines – At exactly noon on Monday, June 12, Independence Day, the Philippine government paid tribute to soldiers and police killed in the Marawi City clashes through a noontime salute.

During the salute, the names and photos of 58 fallen soldiers and police were flashed one by one on television channels and on Facebook Live, as well as read out on radio.

"We enjoin the public to honor these heroes and civilians and pray for them and the families they left behind," said Presidential Spokesman Ernesto Abella in a statement.

The 58 security personnel were killed in action from May 23 to June 9. The Office of the Presidential Spokesperson previously released 45 of the names on June 9. Thirteen more names were added to the June 12 list.

Here is the complete list of the 58 soldiers and police who died fighting for Marawi City:

The Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) is flying the Philippine flag at half-mast in all military camps after the high-noon tribute "as a symbol of respect and mourning for our fallen men and the civilians who died" in Marawi City.

Other government agencies will do the same starting Tuesday, June 13. –

Pia Ranada

Pia Ranada covers the Office of the President and Bangsamoro regional issues for Rappler. While helping out with desk duties, she also watches the environment sector and the local government of Quezon City. For tips or story suggestions, you can reach her at