Top cops in 4 La Union towns sacked amid probe of 'drug' mayors

CAGAYAN, Philippines The police chiefs of 4 towns in La Union have been relieved of their positions, following the investigation of mayors in the province who have been tagged by President Rodrigo Duterte as alleged drug protectors.

In a phone interview on Tuesday, August 9, Police Superintendent Artemio Infante, information officer of the La Union police office, said the police chiefs of Agoo, Bauang, Naguillian, and Tubao towns were relieved of their posts starting Monday, August 8.

Relieved were Police Chief Inspectors Rex Buyucan of Bauang,  Ismael Gaona of Naguilian, and George Depalog of Agoo; and Police Senior Inspector Marlon Padamada of Tubao.

Infante said Philippine National Police Chief Director General Ronald "Bato" dela Rosa had ordered the action.

"It is one of the first actions that we have taken so far as required by our higher office in Camp Crame," Infante told Rappler.

The police officials were temporarily assigned to the Ilocos regional police office and are now under questioning.

Duterte had named 3 incumbent mayors and one former mayor in La Union as among alleged drug protectors: Naguilian Mayor Reynaldo Flores, Tubao Mayor Dante Garcia, Bauang Mayor Martin de Guzman, and former Agoo Eufronio Eriguel. They have all denied the allegation. 

Infante said the mayors have reported to the PNP chief. –